by | Apr 26, 2022 | QLD, SSA Super Sedans

Image by Renee Leggo Photography

National Super Sedan Champion Matty Pascoe has won the $10000 to win Ian Boettcher Classic at Hi-Tec Oils Toowoomba Speedway.

The top point scorers from night one would start at the front of the grid for the only round of heats for the night.

Darren Kane was victorious in the opening heat of the night after launching from grid three.

Kane led home Mitchell Gee in second and overnight points leader Steve Jordan in third.Western Australian Champion Dusty Higgs rocketed around the top side from grid four to take the lead and the win in heat ten.

Higgs was too strong for Rockhampton’s Michael Larsen in second, and Tasmanian Corey Smith in third.

Victoria’s Mick Nicola and Tasmania’s David Nichols had a great battle in heat eleven with Nicola greeting the chequers first having started from fourth.

Nichols would finish second, with Tyson Moon rounding out the podium in third. Tasmania’s Callum Harper changed motors overnight and bounced back to score a heat win in the final heat of the night.

Kiwi Michael Kendall finished second, ahead of Gavin Northfield in third. With light rain falling and cool temperatures, the track speed began to ramp up in the dashes.

Darren Kane would win the B Dash to advance to the A Dash running a blistering 13.185 second lap in the process.

Mick Nicola continued his strong form on the night, winning the A Dash to advance to the top eight pole shuffle.

Nicola would eventually advance to grid six, disposing of Larsen and Nichols in the pole shuffle, before falling to Kendall.

Kendall would also advance a position, defeating Pascoe to secure grid four.

Harper would be the big winner advancing from third defeating Smith, and then Jordan to secure pole position for the thirty five lap main event.

Harper would opt to start on the outside, with Jordan to set off from pole position. Harper gapped the pack in the early going, building a strong lead from Jordan, Kendall, Pascoe and Smith.

Jordan’s race would unfortunately end on lap ten when he brought out the yellow lights for the first time in the race.

Harper again led away at the restart, from Kendall and Pascoe.

The battle for second raged on with Pascoe making the move just before the caution lights were out on lap fourteen for a stricken Larsen, who narrowly avoided a massive roll over.

Pascoe would have to do it all over again from the restart, finally moving to second on lap seventeen.

Pascoe began the chase for the lead and would be on the tail of Harper by lap twenty one. Pascoe would take the lead on lap twenty four, perfectly dicing through Harper and lapped cars in the process.

Kendall’s race would end in disaster on lap twenty five with a big roll over.

This would promote Kane to third having moved through the field after starting from position twelve.

With a clear track ahead of him, Pascoe would wind up his little crate motor and on lap twenty seven become the first ever Super Sedan driver to break into the twelve second bracket, setting a new lap record of 12.989 seconds.

By this stage Kane had moved to second and was presented with an opportunity for the win when the caution lights were out on lap thirty three.

Pascoe would bolt away in the final three lap dash and would lower the lap record again on the thirty sixth and final lap to 12.951 seconds, and also claim the $10000 winners cheque.

Kane would cross the line second, ahead of Harper in third. Gee came from as far back as twelfth to finish fourth, with Justin Randall rounding out the top five.

The Super Sedan division is booming! Be sure to get yourself to a Super Sedan event near you soon!

Official Result

Ian Boettcher Classic, 36 laps-1. A1 Matty Pascoe, 2. Q36 Darren Kane, 3. T22 Callum Harper, 4. Q11 Mitchell Gee, 5. Q33 Justin Randall, 6. W1 Dusty Higgs, 7. V3 Mick Nicola, 8. T3 David Nichols, 9. T6 Corey Smith, 10. Q15 Gavin Northfield, 11. Q98 Michael Hally, 12. N23 Andrew White, 13. N19 Dion Bennett, 14. N47 Tyson Moon, 15. Q8 Rod Enman, DNF N77 Hayden Brims (33), Q28 Zac Pascoe (33), Q6 Ty Pascoe (33), Q35 Michael Kendall (25), Q18 Brad Pascoe (25), RK8 Michael Larsen (14), Q10 Steve Jordan (10), Q65 Zak Hudson (4).