by | Feb 4, 2024 | SSA Super Sedans, VIC

Press Release Courtesy of Speedway Sedans Victoria.

Matty Pascoe has taken out the 2024 SSA Super Sedan Victorian State Title held at B & S Earthworks Timmis Speedway in Mildura, for his second Victorian Title, and nineteenth title overall!

Tasmanian veteran David Nichols kicked off his night by being awarded the Best Presented Team for the second year in a row.

Into heat race action Lucas Roberts took out the opening heat of the night. Roberts led home fellow Victorian Lionel West in second, and South Australian Dave Gartner in third.

Pascoe led the way in heat two, taking the win from fellow Queenslander Michael Hally in second, and Nichols in third.

It was two in a row for the Pascoe clan, with Zac Pascoe taking a narrow victory over Kings Royal winner Dylan Barrow in second, and defending Champion Jamie Collins in third.

Tasmania’s Callum Harper triumphed in heat four, from Gartner in second, and Mick Nicola Snr in third.

Nichols made it two in a row for the Tasmanian duo, taking a narrow victory over the Atkins brothers, with Brock in second, and Todd in third.

Ash Bergmeier conquered the field in heat six, leading home ‘The Joker’ Steve Jordan in second, and National Champion Trent Wilson in third.

Former two time Victorian Champion Mick Nicola Jnr won a photo finish in heat seven over Queensland and Tasmanian Champion Brad Pascoe. Barrow rounded out the podium in third.

Collins took the choccies in the penultimate heat of the night, leading home Harper in second, and Wilson in third.

Jordan was too strong in the final heat of the night, taking the win from Gartner in second, and Matty Pascoe in third.

Gartner and Jordan qualified on the front row for the forty lap main event, with Nichols and Matty Pascoe set to launch from the second row.

Gartner went nowhere on the start, his race was sadly over before he reached turn two, bringing out the first caution of the race.

Nichols was promoted to pole position for the complete restart.

Nichols got the perfect start and jumped to the lead from Jordan, Pascoe, Collins and Harper giving chase.

Nichols turned back the clock and raced away out front, as Pascoe drew level with Jordan in the battle for second.

Jordan and Pascoe ran side by side for multiple laps putting on a great show for the fans in Mildura.

Pascoe was finally able to break clear of Jordan and set out after Nichols for the lead of the race.

Bergmeier broke into the top five, and Barrow moved to sixth, relegating Collins to seventh.

Pascoe began to reel Nichols in as the lead pair headed towards lap traffic.

Pascoe drew level on the outside out of turn two and briefly took the lead down the back straight, before a beautiful move from Nichols through a pair of lap cars took him back to the lead.

The chasing pack closed in on the lead pair in traffic as Barrow made great progress on the top side of the track, moving from sixth to third in short order to right on the tail of the battle for the lead.

The yellow light was out on lap nineteen for a stricken Kemble Aylett, and disaster struck for Nichols as he exited the race from the lead with a punctured right rear tyre.

Pascoe resumed the race in the lead with twenty two laps remaining from Barrow in second, Jordan in third, Harper in fourth, and Bergmeier in fifth.

Barrow sent it to the top and sailed around the outside of Pascoe into the lead of the race with seventeen laps to run.

Bergmeier moved by Harper to take fourth, before Harper spun to bring out another caution with fourteen laps to run.

Barrow resumed in the lead after a heart in the mouth moment under caution where he lost fire to the Seventeen Sweet Chassis.

The first move after the restart came from Bergmeier in fourth, who pinched third from Jordan.

A lap later Barrow got a little untidy and Pascoe capitalised to take the lead with ten laps to run.

Pascoe put a quick gap on Barrow before the Victorian young gun re-found his footing and began to reel in the four time National Champion.

Barrow ran out of noise with two laps to run relinquishing his runner up spot.

Pascoe out front went on to record his second Victorian Title and the nineteenth title of his storied career.

Bergmeier crossed the line second, ahead of Nicola Jnr in third position.

Brad Pascoe crossed the line fourth after starting from twelfth, ahead of Wilson in fifth who started from eleventh.

Tyson Moon was next across the line in sixth who recovered from a tough run in the heat races and starting in twenty second.

Barrow got his car re-fired to cross the line seventh, Collins crossed the line eighth, ahead of Hally in ninth, and Mick Nicola Snr who rounded out the top ten.

The Victorian Super Sedan Series will return in a fortnight’s time at Moama.

Victorian Super Sedan Title

A Main – 40 laps

1. N1 Matty Pascoe, 2. V16 Ash Bergmeier, 3. V23 Mick Nicola Jnr, 4. Q1 Brad Pascoe, 5. A1 Trent Wilson, 6. N47 Tyson Moon, 7. CR17 Dylan Barrow, 8. V1 Jamie Collins, 9. Q98 Michael Hally, 10. V3 Mick Nicola Snr, 11. Q6 Zac Pascoe, 12. V36 Todd Atkins, 13. V99 Trav Ramsdale (38), 14. S22 Paul Blenkiron (38), 15. V71 Lionel West (38), 16. Q10 Steve Jordan (38), DNF T22 Callum Harper (32), T3 David Nichols (19), N57 Brock Atkins (18), S34 Kym Leyson (18), W9 Kemble Aylett (18), V0 Lucas Roberts (1), S18 Dave Gartner (0).