Pascoe Perfection

by | May 26, 2019 | QLD, Results, SSA Super Sedans


Speedway Sedans Australia News

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Matty Pascoe has successfully defended his Queenland Super Sedan Title at the Bundaberg Motorplex on Saturday night, and in the process become the first driver in 22 years to win three consecutive titles.

After nine qualifying heats, Pascoe and Sean Black would start on the front row, while Darren Kane and Kyall Fisher would start on row two.
Black would get the better of the opening laps, leading Pascoe, Fisher and Kane, with Kane passing Fisher on lap seven to reclaim third place.

Pascoe would get the better of Black on lap ten and from there positions did not change in the forty lap event. Ian Brims would pass Mark Pagel in the concluding stages after starting from the fifth row, but Pascoe proved way too good, winning by 3.631 seconds, while Black beat Kane to the line by a car length to take second place for the second year in a row, with the top three places, exactly the same as last season, only the second time in Sedan history that this has occurred.

Pascoe had a perfect back end to the season, winning the National Title, the Goulbourn 5000, the Lismore 50th Anniversary event, the GP53 at Archerfield and the Queensland Title. It was Pascoes tenth main event victory of the season, while he podiumed in 19 of 21 starts in 2018/2019.

: Queensland Super Sedan Title

Heat 1, 10 Laps: 1. Q36 Darren Kane, 2. Q96 Josh McLaren, 3. Q41 Kyall Fisher, 4. N47 Darryl Moon, 5. Q4 Mark Pagel, 6. Q44 Trent Wilson, 7. Q39 Bob McCosker, 8. Q29 Darren Saunders, 9. Q16 Sam Grundy (0). Time: 2.55.751, Winning Margin: 11.706, Fastest Lap: 17.165 Q36 Darren Kane

Heat 2, 10 Laps: 1. Q6 Wayne Randall, 2. Q26 Sean Black, 3. A1 Matty Pascoe, 4. Q63 Justin Smithwick, 5. Q76 Ian Brims, 6. Q3 Matthew Williams, 7. N47x Tyson Moon, 8. Q72 Shayne Lau. Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.208, Fastest Lap: 17.451 A1 Matty Pascoe

Heat 3, 10 Laps: 1. T8 Steve Latham, 2. Q99 Mark OBrien, 3. Q56 Nicholas OKeefe, 4. V3 Mick Nicola, 5. Q0 Justin Randall, 6. N21 Darren Anning, 7. Q20 Nicholas OKeeffe. Time: 3.00.098, Winning Margin: 6.099, Fastest Lap: 17.668 T8 Steve Latham

Heat 4, 10 Laps: 1. Q26 Sean Black, 2. Q36 Darren Kane, 3. A1 Matty Pascoe, 4. Q3 Matthew Williams, 5. N47 Darry Moon, 6. Q44 Trent Wilson, 7. Q99 Mark OBrien, 8. Q20 Nicholas OKeeffe (3 laps), 9. T8 Steve Latham (2). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.329, Fastest Lap: 17.406 Q3 Matthew Williams

Heat 5, 10 Laps: 1. Q0 Justin Randall, 2. Q41 Kyall Fisher, 3. N47x Tyson Moon, 4. Q39 Bob McCosker, 5. Q72 Shayne Lau, 6. Q6 Wayne Randall, 7. Q63 Justin Smithwick, 8. N21 Darren Anning. Time: 3.04.623, Winning Margin: 0.015, Fastest Lap: 17.985 Q41 Kyall Fisher

Heat 6, 10 Laps: 1. Q76 Ian Brims, 2. V3 Mick Nicola, 3. Q4 Mark Pagel, 4. Q96 Josh McLaren, 5. Q29 Darren Saunders, 6. Q56 David OKeeffe (0). Time: 3.02.697, Winning Margin: 3.009, Fastest Lap: 17.590 Q76 Ian Brims

Heat 7, 10 Laps: 1. Q3 Matthew Williams, 2. N47x Tyson Moon, 3. Q26 Sean Black, 4. V3 Mick Nicola, 5. T8 Steve Latham, 6. Q76 Ian Brims, 7. Q39 Bob McCosker (3 laps), 8. Q6 Wayne Randall (3). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 2.349, Fastest Lap: 17.766 Q3 Matthew Williams

Heat 8, 10 Laps: 1. Q44 Trent Wilson, 2. Q4 Mark Pagel, 3. Q96 Josh McLaren, 4. N47 Daryl Moon, 5. Q0 Justin Randall, 6. Q99 Mark OBrien (5 laps), 7. Q36 Darren Kane (4). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.336, Fastest Lap: 17.864 Q4 Mark Pagel

Heat 9, 10 Laps: 1. A1 Matty Pascoe, 2. Q41 Kyall Fisher, 3. N21 Darren Anning, 4. Q29 Darren Saunders, 5. Q63 Justin Smithwick (3 laps). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 5.613, Fastest Lap: 17.409 A1 Matty Pascoe

A Main, 40 Laps: 1. A1 Matty Pascoe, 2. Q26 Sean Black, 3. Q36 Darren Kane, 4. Q76 Ian Brims, 5. Q4 Mark Pagel, 6. V3 Mick Nicola, 7. T8 Steve Latham, 8. Q44 Trent Wilson, 9. Q63 Justin Smithwick, 10. Q96 Josh McLaren, 11. Q39 Bob McCosker, 12. Q0 Justin Randall, 13. N47 Darryl Moon, 14. N21 Darren Anning, 15. N47x Tyson Moon (34 laps), 16. Q41 Kyall Fisher (23), 17. Q3 Matthew Williams (6). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 3.631, Fastest Lap: 17.935 A1 Matty Pascoe

Photo courtesy of Ash Media