by | Apr 3, 2022 | SSA Super Sedans

Press Release by Luke Nichols

Matty Pascoe has won his first South Australian Title at Borderline Speedway in Mount Gambier on Saturday night, and has now won a title in every single state. 

Drivers faced three heat races each and there were six individual heat winners.

Kym Jury got the night off to the perfect start for the locals when he took the win in heat one. Victoria’s Jamie Collins crossed the line second, with Paul Blenkiron in third.

Pascoe was victorious in heat two, ahead of Tasmanian Steve Latham in second, and defending champion Mick Nicola Jnr in third.

Mitchell Rigney picked up the biggest win of his young career when he took out heat three. Mick Nicola Snr crossed the line second ahead of Latham in third.

It was a Tasmanian one two in heat four with Callum Harper leading home David Nichols. Victoria’s Ash Bergmeier rounded out the podium in third.

Ryan Alexander marked his return to Super Sedans with a dominant heat win in heat five. Bergmeier secured another podium when he finished second, with Harper crossing the line in third.

Nicola Jnr set himself up for the defence of his title with a win in the final heat of the night. Collins picked up another podium finishing second, ahead of Pascoe in third.

Harper and Pascoe would be the top two qualifiers with Harper electing to start from pole position, with Pascoe on his outside.

Pascoe jumped to the lead on the initial start, but the yellows were out straight away when some cars near the back of the field came unstuck to force a complete restart.

Pascoe again shot to the lead with Harper, Nicola Jnr, and Collins in hot pursuit. 

Pascoe was able to build a small lead before getting to traffic. Pascoe was under all sorts of pressure when he pulled the perfect split right through the middle of two lap cars to maintain the lead before the caution was out on lap eleven. 

Collins narrowly escaped from having a massive roll over when he got right up on the right side tyres and nosed into the wall. Collins was forced to exit the race with a bent nose bar, along with Kym Leyson and Brock Atkins who fought mechanical issues all night. 

Pascoe again jumped to the lead, this time with Harper glued to the bumper. Harper threw everything he could at Pascoe, but couldn’t quite get the job done.

Pascoe would greet the chequered flag two tenths of a second clear of Harper to win his first South Australian Title. Outgoing champion Nicola Jnr crossed the line in third just ahead of Alexander who finished fourth. Nicola Snr rounded out the top five in fifth.

South Australian Super Sedan Title
A Main – 30 laps 
1. A1 Matty Pascoe, 2. T22 Callum Harper, 3. V23 Mick Nicola Jnr, 4. S18 Ryan Alexander, 5. V3 Mick Nicola Snr, 6. V16 Ash Bergmeier, 7. T8 Steve Latham, 8. T3 David Nichols, 9. Q10 Steve Jordan (29), 10. T48 Wayne Dillon (28), DNF S93 Kym Jury (25), S22 Paul Blenkiron (23), S99 Mitchell Rigney (20), V34 Jamie Collins (11), S34 Kym Leyson (9), V21 Brock Atkins (9), DNS V19 Danny Smith, V24 Dave McKenzie.