by | May 22, 2023 | QLD, SSA Super Sedans

Press Release by Luke Nichols.

Brad Pascoe has secured his third feature race victory of the season and has become the last ever feature winner at the famed Archerfield Speedway by taking out the GP53 and the finale of the McCosker Super Sedan Series.

Time trials hit the track first to set the grids for the heat races.

Steve Jordan went quick time to secure pole position for the opening heat of the night. Brad Pascoe, Sam Hughes, Sean Black and David Nichols would round out the top five.

Jordan and Nichols led the field to the green in heat one with Nichols jumping to the lead from the outside.

Nichols took the win from Jordan in second, and Mick Nicola Jnr in third. It would be two for two for Tasmania after Steve Latham took out the second heat.

Queensland Champion Brad Pascoe crossed the line second, ahead of South Australia’s Dave Gartner in third. Victoria’s Ash Bergmeier dominated heat three leading home Darren Kane in second, and Zac Pascoe in third.

Sean Black became the first pole man to take the win in heat four. Black got the best of National Champion Trent Wilson in second, and Bob McCosker in third.

Ryan Cats led from the outset of heat five to take the win.

McCosker crossed the line second for his second podium of the night ahead of Bergmeier in third who was the top qualifier after two rounds of heats. Michael Kendall got the win in IBRP Rotary in heat six.

Tasmania’s Luke Gunn finished second, ahead of Brad Pascoe in third. Hayden Brims took out a big win in the penultimate heat of the night, leading home South Australia’s Paul Blenkiron in second, and Sam Roza in third.

Mick Nicola Snr took the win in the final heat race, from New South Wales Champion Matty Pascoe in second, and Zac Pascoe in third. Hayden Brims won the shoot out, taking home $500, but having to start the feature from tenth on the grid.

After the drivers draft Zac Pascoe and Ash Bergmeier would lead the field to the green for the fifty three lap main event.

Pascoe jumped to the lead from pole position and led the first circulation from Bergmeier in second, and Nicola Jnr in third.

Having started from sixth Brad Pascoe quickly moved through to second at the end of lap five and set about chasing down his brother for the lead.

Matty Pascoe had joined his sons in the top three by the time the first caution light was out on lap twelve.

From the restart Matty moved around the outside of Brad on lap fourteen, and would go on to take the lead from Zac on the fifteenth lap of the race.

The red light was out on lap eighteen for Steve Latham who had gone over in turn three.

Latham exited the car under his own power, but he would have to watch the remaining thirty five laps from the infield.

Matty continued to lead his sons from the restart, but Brad moved by Zac for second on lap nineteen.

Matty led the race at the halfway mark, earning himself $1000 in the process.

The caution light was out again the following lap for a spinning Darren Kane, whose race would end on the infield.

Having started from eleventh Black had made his way into the top five, and would move on to the podium shortly after the restart and set out after the leading Pascoe duo.

Brad reeled in his father and took the lead with twenty one laps remaining.

Brad and Matty stretched their legs and built up an advantage over the chasing pack.

Brad was flawless through traffic and went on to claim the win and the race in honour of his late Grandfather.

Matty would cross the line in second, ahead of Black in third.

Jordan crossed the line fourth ahead of the third of the Pascoe clan in Zac Pascoe who rounded out the top five.

Sam Roza would finish sixth, ahead of dash winner Brims in seventh.

Tyson Moon stormed from the B Main to finish eighth, ahead of Nicola Jnr in ninth, and Bergmeier who rounded out the top ten.

GP53 & McCosker Super Sedan Series Round 14

A Main – 53 laps 1. Q1 Brad Pascoe, 2. N1 Matty Pascoe, 3. Q26 Sean Black, 4. Q10 Steve Jordan, 5. Q6 Zac Pascoe, 6. Q77 Sam Roza, 7. N77 Hayden Brims, 8. N47 Tyson Moon, 9. V23 Mick Nicola Jnr, 10. V16 Ash Bergmeier, 11. A1 Trent Wilson, 12. V3 Mick Nicola Snr, 13. Q33 Justin Randall, 14. Q11 Rob Hamilton, 15. Q34 Michael Kendall (34), 16. Q39 Bob McCosker (52), 17. T3 David Nichols (52), DNF S18 Dave Gartner (39), Q36 Darren Kane (25), Q48 JJ Hamilton (18) T8 Steve Latham (17), Q27 Ryan Cats (17), T12 Luke Gunn (12), Q35 Callum Harper (3).