by | Oct 9, 2022 | QLD, SSA Super Sedans

Press Release by Luke Nichols

National Champion Matty Pascoe has taken out Round One of the McCosker Super Sedan Series at Autobarn Carina Speedway in Bundaberg.

Mitchell Gee kicked his season off with a big win in the opening heat of the night. Trent Wilson led from the get go in heat two, and would secure a comfortable win.

Wilson went two for two when he took out heat three. Pascoe would secure his first win of the night taking out a big win in heat four.

Pascoe again was too good for the field in heat five. Zac Brims would hold off Wilson to take the win in the final heat off the night.

Wilson’s second placed finish would be enough to secure pole position for the twenty five lap main event.

Pascoe would join Wilson on the front row and would get the jump from the outside of the track and take the lead into turn one, with Wilson settling into second in the early stages.

Wilson would only hold P2 for two laps, with Gee making the move on lap three. Hayden Brims moved on to the podium on lap eight, and then into second displacing Wilson and Gee in consecutive laps.

Brims would bring out the yellows on lap seventeen and his race would come to an unfortunate end due to mechanical failure.

Brims retirement would elevate Gee to second, and Wilson to third with eight laps remaining.

Pascoe would resume the race and jump to a comfortable lead, but Gee appeared to be struggling with a tight racecar. Wilson was able to capitalize to move into second, with Gee’s car pushing in the middle of the turn.

Gee would jump the cushion in turn one and lose a lot of ground to Wilson. As he tried to come back to the racing line, Gee would make contact with Dempsie Pails, sending Pails spinning into the wall.

Gee would be sent to the rear for the restart, elevating Justin Randall on to the podium.

The race however would never recommence as the rain began to descend and the race would end with twenty laps complete.

Ty Pascoe would be elevated to fourth, and the debuting Matt Hefford would round out the top five.

Attention for the McCosker Super Sedan Series now turns to Round Two at Hi-Tec Oils Toowoomba Speedway in three weeks time.

It is expected to be a huge field, with eight nominations already received!

McCosker Super Sedan Series Round One
A Main – 20 laps
1. A1 Matty Pascoe, 2. Q44 Trent Wilson, 3. Q33 Justin Randall, 4. Q6 Ty Pascoe, 5. Q83 Matt Hefford, 6. N29 Zac Brims, 7. Q77 Dempsie Pails, 8. Q11 Mitchell Gee, DNF N77 Hayden Brims (17), Q31 Brendan Doyle (17), Q39 Bob McCosker (17).