by | Apr 5, 2021 | SSA Junior Sedans, WA

Without leading a lap, Jhy Pack has won the Karratha Earthmoving and Sand Supplies SSA Junior Sedan State Title, with six drivers fighting for the lead throughout the twenty five laps.

Beau Oldfield led for all but 100 metres, and finished third with Pack and Seth Hinsey passing Oldfield coming out of turn four, with Hinsey crossing the line first.

Stewards relegated Hinsey immediately for a rough pass, relegating the Collie driver to third, with Pack awarded the Title, with Beau Oldfield credited with second place for the second year in a row.

The race went for nine laps before the first stoppage, with the second half of the race littered with restarts, but at no stage was there more than a second separating the top six cars.

Beau Oldfield would get a dream start, with both Kayne Dellar and Taj Vanzetti besieged in the opening corner after starting from the front row.

Oldfield would immediately feel the pressure from Dellar, Vanzetti and Jhy Pack in a brilliant spectacle, with Oldfield holding off numerous challenges, as drivers ran two and three wide behind him.

Riley Hanson and Hinsey who started on the third row were also right in the mix, as the race intensified nearing the half way mark before the first of many stoppages.

Dellar would try everything to pass Pack and Oldfield, with Hinsey, Vanzetti and Matthew Thomson joining the lead battle.

Kayne Dellar would be forced to retire with a flat tyre with five laps remaining and two drivers would be relegated for passing before the cone, as drivers looked for any edge they could find. Taj Vanzetti hit the cone and was relegated to the rear of the field, effectively ending his race.

Oldfield continued to hold his nerve at every stoppage, with Pack, Hinsey, Thomson, Brandon Buszan and Blake Palmer in the top six with four laps remaining, in a race befitting the occasion.

With a lap remaining, Buszan passed Thomson, as Hinsey dived under Pack and Oldfield, with Hinsey taking a thrilling victory, or so it seemed, but immediately the Chief Steward relegated Hinsey two positions for the pass.

In a blanket finish, Pack crossed the line 0.056 of a second ahead of the dreadfully unlucky Oldfield to win the Title, with Hinsey credited with third. Matthew Thomson finished fourth, 0.015 of a second ahead of Buszan, while sixth placed Blake Palmer who was in the race up to his eye-balls, was less than a second off winning the event.

Earlier the two B Mains were in direct opposition with each other. B Main 1, went without a stoppage, with every car finishing, with Jaxon Buszan, Jared Coutts and Hunter Downs advancing to the main race.

B Main 2, was the complete opposite, with eight restarts, in a very stop start affair, with Jesse James Samuels leading all but the last lap, with Kai Leeson winning from Elysha Cooper with Samuels third.

Official Results

B Main 1, 20 laps: 1. W199 Jaxon Buszan, 2. W77 Jared Coutts, 3. W89 Hunter Downs, 4. W133 Lexi Smith, 5. W138 Zach Munro, 6. W17 Travis Strelley, 7. W29 Deagan McNally, 8. W117 Tyson Blackburn, 9. W4 Emma Ahearn, 10. W22 Jakob Doust, 11. W12 Matthew Magerl (19), 12. WA98 Braydon Magerl (19), 13. W27 Malik Gordon (19). Total Time: 7.24.565. Winning Margin: 3.471. Fastest Lsp: 21.794 W199 Jaxon Buszan.

B Main 2, 20 laps: 1. W83 Kai Leeson, 2. W13 Elysha Cooper, 3. W31 Jesse James Samuels, 4. W171 Jayden Blackburn, 5. W16 Aaron Doust, 6. W75 Tylah Steele, 7. W26 Zakiya Costa, 8. W21 Chevy Francis, 9. W08 Tyler Scott (19). DNF: WA16 Alicia Short (17), WA66 Possum Lawrence (0). DQ: W71 Olivia Earle. DNS: W24 Cade Munro. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.337. Fastest Lap: 21.557 W08 Tyler Scott.

A Main, 25 laps: 1. W98 Jhy Pack, 2. W84 Beau Oldfield, 3. W15 Matthew Thomson, 4. W198 Brandon Buszan, 5. W73 Blake Palmer, 6. W199 Jaxon Buszan, 7. W80 Bryce Fisher, 8. W23 Hope Batchelor, 9. W13 Elysha Cooper, 10. W87 Riley Hanson, 11. W83 Kai Leeson, 12. W121 Taj Vanzetti, 13. W88 Izzak Delaporte, 14. W31 Jesse James Samuels. DNF: W89 Hunter Downs (23), W95 Kayne Dellar (20), W77 Jared Coutts (16), W55 Riley Dunne (11), W52 Bradley Chant (9), WA73 Jayden Haddon (9). DQ: WA4 Amber Shore, W66 Seth Hinsey. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.056. Fastest Lap: 21.588 W15 Matthew Thomson