by | Jul 2, 2023 | SSA Street Stocks, WA

Press Release by Speedway Sedans Western Australia.

Jamie Oldfield has tonight added a new trophy to his case, finally winning the Brett Johnson Memorial at the Nickol Bay Speedway!

Oldfield was strong all weekend, winning three of his four heat races, claiming the Col Johnson Memorial Shield preliminary feature race and then leading every lap of tonight’s thirty lap main event to win the Brett Johnson Memorial for the first time ever.

As was the case last night, Oldfield and rival Hayden Norman would qualify onto the front row, the duo hitting the stripe at the same time as the race went green.

Again it was Oldfield who would hit the front first, Norman slotting into second with Damon Lyall from fourth and Donny Davis from sixth in behind them, the top four slightly pulling away.

Matt Lowe became the first retiree with a flat tyre after qualifying from the B Main, while Joshua Ellis, who took the last starting position in the A Main after also qualifying in via the B Main, would join him shortly after.

Jamie, Hayden, Damon and Donny had equal gaps on each other, as was the gap back to fifth placed Paul Briggs, who led Ben Norman, Jake Hoath, Stevie O’Dowd, Jack Barnewall and Josh Martinelli with five laps complete.

Shay Roberts was the next one to make his move, racing into ninth by the completion of lap seven, after running eleventh two laps prior.

With eight laps complete the yellows came on for a tangle involving Cody Avins and Jack McAuley.

No positions would change on the lap after the restart, Oldfield still leading Norman, Lyall, Davis and Briggs.

Davis would pressure Lyall for third corner after corner and with twelve laps complete he was finally able to grab the position by 0.064 seconds. On the next lap he was able to consolidate the position and looked to close the gap on second placed Norman, who began to emit smoke from his machine a lap later before slowing, seeing Davis race by for second.

Norman would head infield, leaving seventeen cars on track at the halfway distance, Oldfield now leading Davis, Lyall, Briggs and Roberts who continued his strong run forward after starting in position thirteen.

With the field completing seventeen laps Davis would also pull infield as Roberts got by Briggs, the order now Oldfield by just under five seconds from Lyall, Roberts, Briggs and Ben Norman.

Ben Norman was under attack from Jake Hoath, Jack Barnewall and Ethan Genev, the top eight cars having pulled away from the back of the field.

Unfortunately for Roberts, with twenty laps complete he sustained a flat right rear tyre and he too pulled infield while running third.

With eight remaining Oldfield was well ahead of Lyall while Briggs, who had been leading the pack behind him, emitted a puff of smoke going through turn four and pulled high, allowing Norman, Hoath, Barnewall, and Genev all through.

Five remaining and Oldfield was now on the back of the last placed cars, over seven and a half seconds ahead of second placed Lyall, with Norman holding onto third ahead of Hoath, Barnewall and Genev.

Oldfield began to make his way through the lapped traffic, but still his lead would extend, each lap growing bigger and bigger and in the end going on to claim the win by just under eight seconds, defeating Lyall and Ben Norman while Jake Hoath and Jack Barnewall would round out the top five finishers.

It was another epic weekend up at the Karratha based venue and a he congratulations to the whole committee for making it run smoothly!


1. W0 Jamie Oldfield, 2. W27 Damon Lyall, 3. W66 Ben Norman, 4. WA1 Jake Hoath, 5. WA16 Jack Barnewall, 6. WA4 Ethan Genev, 7. WB12 Paul Briggs, 8. WJ12 Josh Martinelli, 9. W69 Paul Joss, 10. W39 Zane Humphrys, 11. W10 Damon Thomson, 12. W74 Lenny Bates, 13. W616 Jamie Goodwin (29), 14. W19 Stevie O’Dowd (29), 15. W31 Cody Avins (29). DNF: W52 Shay Roberts (20), W3 Donny Davis (16), W8 Hayden Norman (14), W9 Matt Hammond (13), W11 Matthew Iwanow (10), W96 Jack McAuley (8), W88 Peter Dowie (7), W222 Joshua Ellis (3), W23 Matt Lowe (3). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 7.869. Fastest Lap: 21.077 W0 Jamie Oldfield.