by | Mar 7, 2022 | SSA Street Stocks, WA

Press Release by Morgan Melvin, Image by Teash Hamon Photography

It was a near-perfect night for Jamie Oldfield as the current Western Australian Champion won the inaugural Coalminer 50 at the Make Smoking History Collie Speedway and, in doing so, has taken the lead in the Novus Glass Street Stock Month of Madness.

Despite an overnight overhaul of his Holden Commodore, Oldfield went undefeated all night, going fastest in Qualifying, winning his heat, and leading every lap of the 50-lap feature.

He would take the win over Ethan Genev and Damon Lyall.Unlike the two nights prior at Bunbury, where the leaders found trouble all night long, it was not the case for Oldfield, who, despite an attack from Lyall in the early stages, was never headed and, in doing so, has taken the lead of the Month of Madness.

The American Style format saw drivers have a fuel stop during the A-Main to make sure they could make the entire journey.

Lyall was the show star, blowing a tyre just before the scheduled fuel stop at the halfway mark while challenging for the lead.

With the supplementary rules, the team changed the tyre, and he would restart at the tail of the field.

From there, he would find the top half of the track to his liking, making his way to third place.

Genev would be the only driver from round one to be back on the podium in Collie.

Genev’s night also didn’t go to plan after he had to come through a B-Main to make the show.

With two rounds completed, there is now a breakaway group of four drivers in the series, with only 26 points separating them into the Perth Motorplex in four nights.

Official Result

A Main, 50 laps: 1. WA1 Jamie Oldfield, 2. W4 Ethan Genev, 3. W27 Damon Lyall, 4. W12 Paul Briggs, 5. W100 Linton Dickerson, 6. W10 Damon Thomson, 7. W3 Trent Lyall, 8. W616 Jamie Goodwin, 9. W31 Cody Avins, 10. W81 Peter Walker, 11. W110 Clayton Blee, 12. WA10 David Fall, 13. WA24 Jake Williams (49), 14. W48 Jim Dixon (48). DNF: W6 Hayden Norman (44), W29 Jake Hoath (34), W66 Ben Norman (34), W2 Marty Kelly (24), T10 Matt Hammond (18), WX24 Mark Murray (17), W8 Matthew Iwanow (13), WA83 Stefani Ameduri (13), WA6 Brinley McGaffin (13), W00 Hamish Macalpine (13). DNS: WA21 Colm O’Riordan. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 5.095. Fastest Lap: 20.697 WA1 Jamie Oldfield.