Oldfield Storms To State Title Victory

by | Jan 26, 2020 | SSA Street Stocks, WA

Jamie Oldfield has won a thrilling AVEG WA Street Stock Title at the Tyrepower Manjimup Speedway on Sunday night, before a big crowd, in what was an extraordinary forty lap A Main.

Oldfield came from position eighteen after winning B Main 2, to defeat Manjimup driver Jack Favero, Justin Brumfield from the Northern Territory and defending Champion Jack Barnewall.

The race had it all including a two lap restart after Michael Hamon was deemed to have spun Barnewall with two laps remaining.

The race started with Anthony Beare and Michael Hamon sharing the front row, with the duo having won seven Street Stock National Titles between them. Justin Brumfield and Jack Favero would share the second row, with the race running clockwise.

Hamon would lead Beare and Favero, with the first move being from Favero, who moved to second on lap three.

In a spectacular opening, the race went green through the first ten laps, with positional changes a-plenty.

After ten laps, Jamie Oldfield had already made his way to twelfth position, as Hamon opened a small lead over Favero and Beare, who both were continually swapping second place. Behind them Brumfield would be engaged in a battle with Clint Hadley and Barnewall with the trio also swapping positions continually.

With seventeen laps remaining, Hadley spun in turn four, bunching the field. The race would change completely soon after as Michael Hamon spun while leading, spread-eagling the field, with Hamon dropping to eleventh place, putting Brumfield into the lead for a lap before Beare took the lead for the first time in the race.

Beare’s time leading the race lasted one lap, as the four time State Champion suffered mechanical issues, putting Brumfield back in front. Jamie Oldfield’s ascension to the front of the field was remarkable, moving to second, and within two laps Oldfield moved to the lead.

Brumfield would fight back, but couldn’t stay with Oldfield, with Favero and Barnewall engaged in a great battle for the minor placings and amazingly they would be joined by Michael Hamon again in what looked destined to be a great finish.

With Oldfield taking the white flag, the drama hit new heights as Michael Hamon and Jack Barnewall made contact in turn four, resulting in a two lap re-start with Michael Hamon deemed the primary cause, sending the two times National Champion to the rear of the field. Hamon elected to park on the infield and didn’t contest the last two laps.

The drama was not finished as Barnewall moved under Brumfield on the final lap, taking both drivers high. Jack Favero was able to get under Brumfield as the trio were separated by just 0.385 as they crossed the line.

Officials deemed the pass severe and relegated the defending Champion to fourth, elevating Jack Favero to second place, with Brumfield credited to third.

Oldfield Celebrates Another Remarkable Win In His Career

Earlier both B Mains took almost 30 minutes each to complete, with less than half the field finishing in both events, with Oldfield and Mark Jennings winning the respective finals. Jennings would go on to finish fifth in the A Main.


A Main, 40 Laps- 1. W0 Jamie Oldfield, 2. WA18 Jack Favero, 3. NT5 Justin Brumfield, 4. WA1 Jack Barnewall, 5. S21 Mark Jennings, 6. WA21 Evan Wakefield, 7. W35 Craig Clayton, 8. W31 Cody Avins, 9. W7 Josh Martinelli. DNF: WA7 Mick Hamon (38), W99 Kyran Bridges (38), WA81 Damien Amato (37), W46 Jason Batchelor (35), W69 Paul Joss (34), WX12 Paul Briggs (28), S46 Anthony Beare (23), W16 Clint Hadley (23), W29 Jake Hoath (17), W4 Ethan Genev (15), W6 Hayden Norman (13), W27 Damon Lyall (12), W55 Jace Kempton (12). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.606. Fastest Lap: 21.521 WA7 Mick Hamon.

The Four Placegetters in the WA Street Stock Title, photos by Aidan Skraha