Oldfield Stampede’s to Victory

by | Dec 30, 2019 | SSA Street Stocks, WA


Speedway Sedans Australia News

Author : Allan Smallwood SSA Media

Last night at the Tyrepower Manjimup Speedway Jamie Oldfield returned to Street Stock action and raced his way from position fourteen on the grid to claim a win in a race that really showed just how good Street Stock racing is in Western Australia.

Despite not competing in the opening night of the Stampede event due to other commitments, Oldfield headed down to Manjimup on Sunday afternoon and grabbed a third and two wins in his three heats to qualify out of position fourteen on the grid.

Local Manjimup driver David Fall and Carnarvons Jace Kempton would fill the front row of the thirty lap feature grid, with State Champion Jack Barnewall and Damon Lyall sharing the second row.

The lap charts will show that the lead changed no less than seven times throughout the race, but those who watched live will be clear that there were many more changes than that, with five different drivers holding the lead at one stage throughout the thirty lap affair.

In short, Jace Kempton was the initial leader, with Jack Barnewall also making his way to the front. Kempton got back by, followed by Lyall, with Barnewall blowing a tyre and touching Lyall who then spun.

Lyall was reinstated, Barnewall was infield minus a tyre and the race resumed, Lyall able to briefly claim the lead before David Fall made his way to the front. All the while, Oldfield was making his way through the field, into third by lap nine then spending multiple laps battling with Bradley Roberts who put on a great show.

Lyall retook the lead from Fall, but a few laps later Fall was back in front as Oldfield began to make his presence felt, looking for a way past Lyall.

One mistake was all it took and Lyall and Oldfield passed Fall once again, the duo now side by side for the lead, putting on a great show as they fought for position in every corner. The two would be side by side with two to go, but the yellows came on, setting up a green, white, chequer finish.

The race would resume and again Oldfield would apply the pressure to Lyall, a nose in front as the white flag flew.
Oldfield would hold that lead for the final lap and cross the line first, grabbing his second Stampede win in three years and quite possibly setting the tone for the upcoming WA Street Stock Championship, to be held at the same venue on the Australia Day weekend early next year.

Damon Lyall did a great job to come home in second while Fall claimed a valiant third in what truly was an excellent feature race.

Also on the program were the Production Sedans with Daniel Flavel running a great race to claim the feature win while Matthew Thomson won the Junior Sedan feature win, both drivers recording their first win of the season.

Action resumes again at the Tyrepower Manjimup Speedway across the Australia Day long weekend for the WA Street Stock Championship and with 72 entries received, not to mention the display of racing put on by the Street Stocks last night, that Title event is going to be one you wont want to miss!

Feature, 30 laps: 1. W10 David Fall, 2. W55 Jace Kempton, 3. WA1 Jack Barnewall, 4. W27 Damon Lyall, 5. W6 Hayden Norman, 6. W16 Clint Hadley, 7. W101 Damon Thomson, 8. W91 Evan Wakefield, 9. W75 Mick Comley, 10. W18 Jack Favero, 11. W25 Bradley Roberts, 12. W35 Craig Clayton, 13. W181 Peter Walker, 14. W0 Jamie Oldfield, 15. W36 Joe Wilson, 16. W15 Wayne Thomson, 17. W5 Jeff Rogers, 18. W102 Mitchell Claybrook, 19. W21 Courtney McKean, 20. W2 Shane Whild, 21. W11 Greg Hall, 22. W20 Clinton Waldron, 23. W26 Brendan Fagan, 24. W24 Tim Matthews.


1. W0 Jamie Oldfield, 2. W27 Damon Lyall, 3. W10 David Fall, 4. W91 Evan Wakefield, 5. W25 Bradley Roberts, 6. W18 Jack Favero, 7. W16 Clint Hadley, 8. W6 Hayden Norman, 9. W181 Peter Walker, 10. W35 Craig Clayton, 11. W101 Damon Thomson, 12. W36 Joe Wilson, 13. W5 Jeff Rogers, 14. W11 Greg Hall (29), 15. W21 Courtney McKean (29). DNF: W75 Mick Comley (28), W55 Jace Kempton (16), W2 Shane Whild (11), W102 Mitchell Claybrook (7), WA1 Jack Barnewall (5). DNS: W15 Wayne Thomson, W20 Clinton Waldron, W24 Tim Matthews. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.779. Fastest Lap: 21.878 W10 David Fall

Photo by Aidan Skraha