Oh How Sweet It Is!

by | Jan 1, 2018 | Latest News, Results

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

It is almost inconceivable how one driver can dominate four nights of racing, but that is what has happened, when Queensland Champion Matty Pascoe won yet again on Sunday night, on the fourth and final night of the Super Sedan Summer Slam, at the Hi-Tec Oils Speedway, Toowoomba, which doubled as round eight of the Brims Concrete Super Sedan Series, supported by Ian Boettcher Race Parts.

Pascoe was leading the opening round of the series at Gympie when a power steering hose blew, and since then he has been unstoppable, winning at Maryborough, Archerfield and Toowoomba in consecutive nights, taking his Feature Race tally to seven, six of which have been in the Super Sedan Series, with Gympie being his only loss after opening round at Kingaroy was washed out.

Pascoe and Ryan Alexander would start on the front row for the forty lap decider after four qualifying heats were held.

Pascoe immediately went to the lead, followed by Alexander, Tasmanian Adam Beechey and Wayne Randall, while Darren Kane was shuffled back through the pack as low as eighth in the early going.

Kane had just made his way to fourth place when he spun in turn two, putting the National Champion to the back of the field. A spin at the back of the field at the resumption, brought the yellow lights on again, with the race still having thirty laps to complete.

Pascoe on previous nights was able to open up large margins on the field in quick time, but Ryan Alexander and Adam Beechey did not allow that to happen, keeping within four or five car lengths of the three times Queensland Champion.

Positions remained closed at the half way mark, apart from Pascoe, who had started to finally open a lead as the leaders hit heavy lapped traffic. Pascoe grew his advantage to 3.010 seconds on lap twenty three when the yellow lights came on for a crash in turn four.

The race for the minor placings started to intensify, with Alexander holding off Beechey, Sean Black, Wayne Randall and Lachlan Onley. Black was able to get under Beechey to move into third place on lap twenty eight, while a lap later a stoppage occurred which ultimately saw the demise of West Australian Phil Barton and Darren Anning.

With ten laps remaining, Pascoe continued to lead, again opening a gap on the field, with Alexander under pressure from Black and Randall, with the trio soon to be joined by Onley and Steve Jordan, in a tremendous scrap for the minor placings.

When all looked complete a stoppage occurred with two laps remaining, setting up a grandstand finish. Pascoe would be simply too good, winning by five car lengths. In a great finish for the minor placings, veteran Wayne Randall passed both Sean Black and Ryan Alexander on the outside of turn four to record second place by 0.333, while Black was a further 0.307 behind in fourth in a blanket finish. Lachlan Onley and Callum Harper rounded out the top sixth, while National Champion Darren Kane stormed back through the field to finish a credible seventh.

All spoils though to Pascoe, who was simply superb.

:: Super Sedans Summer Slam Night Four

Heat 1, 10 Laps: 1. B15 Matty Pascoe, 2. W36 Phil Barton, 3. Q32 Kyall Fisher, 4. Q26 Sean Black, 5. Q15 Gavin Northfield, 6. V3 Michael Nicola, 7. C77 Sam Roza, 8. N9 Brian Trevithick, 9. N17 Lachlan Onley, 10. B76 Ian Brims. Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 1.768, Fastest Lap: 14.368 B15 Matty Pascoe

Heat 2, 10 Laps: 1. T41 Adam Beechey, 2. S47 Ryan Alexander, 3. N21 Darren Anning, 4. GL39 Bob McCosker, 5. T22 Callum Harper, 6. A1 Darren Kane, 7. C6 Wayne Randall, 8. RK3 Matt Williams, 9. Q22 Dale Christensen, 10. B10 Steve Jordan. Time: 2.33.287, Winning Margin: 0.072, Fastest Lap: 14.711 T41 Adam Beechey

Heat 3, 10 Laps: 1. A1 Darren Kane, 2. S47 Ryan Alexander, 3. N17 Lachlan Onley, 4. B76 Ian Brims, 5. Q26 Sean Black, 6. Q22 Dale Christensen, 7. Q15 Gavin Northfield, 8. C77 Sam Roza, 9. GL39 Bob McCosker, 10. N21 Darren Anning, 11. N9 Brian Trevithick, 12. CR71 Shane Lau (4 laps). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 1.689, Fastest Lap: 14.199 A1 Darren Kane

Heat 4, 10 Laps: 1. B10 Steve Jordan, 2. C6 Wayne Randall, 3. Q1 Matty Pascoe, 4. T41 Adam Beechey, 5. T22 Callum Harper, 6. V3 Michael Nicola, 7. Q0 Justin Randall, 8. W36 Phil Barton, 9. RK3 Matthew Williams, 10. Q32 Kyall Fisher, 11. N47 Darryl Moon. Time: 2.26.390, Winning Margin: 1.584, Fastest Lap: 14.344 B10 Steve Jordan

A Main, 40 Laps: 1. Q1 Matty Pascoe, 2. C6 Wayne Randall, 3. S47 Ryan Alexander, 4. 6 Sean Q26 Sean Black, 5. N17 Lachlan Onley, 6. T22 Callum Harper, 7. A1 Darren Kane, 8. B10 Steve Jordan, 9. B76 Ian Brims, 10. RK3 Matthew Williams, 11. GL39 Bob McCosker, 12. Q0 Justin Randall, 13. Q15 Gavin Northfield, 14. Q32 Kyall Fisher, 15. V3 Michael Nicola, 16. N47 Darryl Moon, 17. C77 Sam Roza, 18. T41 Adam Beechey, 19. CR71 Shane Lau (39 laps), 20. W36 Phil Barton (29), 21. N21 Darren Anning (29), 22. Q22 Dale Christensen (0). Time: No Time, winning Margin: 0.988, Fastest Lap: 14.252 Q1 Matty Pascoe

Brims Concrete Super Sedan Series Sponsors

Afco Shock Doctor
B&J Car Sales
Think Investment Realty
Brims Concrete
Barnes Drilling
Queensland Speedway Spares
Think Money
Ian Boettcher Race Parts
Tanias Ts
Motorsports Promotions Racegear
McCosker Contracting
Ford Wreckers Redcliffe
Speedway Sedans Australia