by | Aug 24, 2020 | SSA Production Sedans, WA

2017 WA Production Sedan Champion Drew Ogle drove an outstanding race to claim victory in the fifteen lap main event yesterday afternoon at Ellenbrook Speedway.

Twenty Six SSA Production Sedans filled the pit area with a nasty accident occurring during the heat race competition when Martin Hackett made heavy contact with the concrete wall causing a long delay.

Due to the long halt in proceedings only two rounds of heat racing were conducted for the SSA Production Sedans ahead of the feature race.

Pole Sitter Jayke Malcolm was unable to start the race with Kyle Sayer leading the early laps from Ogle, Jake Blight and Ashley Baker.

Ogle hit the lead on lap five with Baker and Blight both finding a way past Sayer as the twenty plus SSA Production Sedans raced two and three wide throughout the field.

Blight began to throw everything at the leader as Allan Barrow brought the yellow lights on with six laps remaining.

The field bunched up for the single file restart as Ogle began to pull away from the field as his new Holden Commodore set the fastest times of the race.

Blight retired to the infield within sight of the finish as Josh Fraser stormed past both Baker and Sayer to pinch second place on the final lap.

The next race meeting at the Ellenbrook Speedway features the 2020 RDA Production Sedan Classic to be held on Sunday 6th September 2020 (Father’s Day).

Official Result

SSA Production Sedans Feature Race, Fifteen Laps: 1. W13 Drew Ogle, 2. W3 Josh Fraser, 3. W10 Ashley Baker, 4. W95 Kyle Sayer, 5. W113 Shane Dubberlin, 6. W11 Daniel Day, 7. W5 Peter Huntjens, 8. W86 Wayne Leviston, 9. W00 Hamish Macalpine, 10. W55 Murray Cleasby, 11. W7 Terry Main, 12. W27 Jackson Derrick, 13. W57 Kelsey Beard, 14. W31 Ethan Cooper, 15. 186 Mitchell Moody (14), 16. W43 George Lanoue (14). DNF: W112 Warren Flavel (13), W61 Jake Blight (12), W19 Josh Stewart (9), W9 Allan Burrow (9), W12 Rod Musarra (2). DNS: W18 Lawson Mayes, W23 Jayke Malcolm, W49 John Castagna, W52 Martin Hackett, W616 David Francis. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 3.978. Fastest Lap: 21.873 W13 Drew Ogle.