by | Jul 3, 2022 | SSA Street Stocks, WA

Press Release by Morgan Melvin

Hayden Norman has classed the field in Nickol Bay to win his second Karratha Machinery Hire Brett Johnson Memorial spectacularly.

Norman would take the checkers ahead of B-Main transfer Brinley McGaffin and Lenny Bates.

Starting outside the second row, he made easy work getting past front row starters Bates and Jamie Oldfield on the opening lap as he and Oldfield went side by side for the opening ten laps.

They were not alone throughout the thirty-lap main event, as last year’s winner Jace Kempton, Paul Joss, and local Colm O’Riordan gave the top three a run for their money.

Oldfield would get passed Norman for the lead and start to gain a healthy lead over the chasing pack until mechanical woes sidelined the leader.

He wouldn’t be alone on the infield as a heavy hit to the wall in separate accidents saw the demise of Peter Walker and Rowan Drysdale.

They would start to drop like flies from there, with Joss hitting the wall on turn one and O’Riordan overheating in sight of the finish.

McGaffin was the star of the A-Main, finding his way past the field to get into the runner-up position after failing to start two heat races on the opening night and qualifying for the A-Main after finishing in the last chance race.

But the night belonged to Norman, who powered away from the field to win by over two seconds as the flag fell.

The night started with something special for the kids of EPIC, a passionate, human-centered, and inclusive not-for-profit organization dedicated to empowering disability support services in remote areas with a passenger car ride with drivers in the event.

The Nickol Bay Speedway Club also donated $5,000 to EPIC at the end of the night.

Street Stocks A Main, 30 laps: 1. W74 Lenny Bates, 2. W0 Jamie Oldfield, 3. W29 Jake Hoath, 4. WA6 Hayden Norman, 5. W21 Colm O’Riordan, 6. W69 Paul Joss, 7. W83 Daniel Ameduri, 8. W56 Ethan Cooper, 9. W8 Jace Kempton, 10. W23 Steven Griffiths, 11. W19 Stevie O’Dowd, 12. W22 Rowan Drysdale, 13. W94 Robert Dunbar, 14. W81 Peter Walker, 15. W78 Shayne Doust, 16. W47 Shane Snell, 17. W99 James Hunt, 18. W6 Brinley McGaffin, 19. W73 Ray Clifton, 20. W32 Ben Ferris, 21. W82 Jack McAuley, 22. W45 Philip Lockhart.

1. WA6 Hayden Norman, 2. W6 Brinley McGaffin, 3. W74 Lenny Bates, 4. W56 Ethan Cooper, 5. W99 James Hunt, 6. W32 Ben Ferris, 7. W83 Daniel Ameduri. DNF: W47 Shane Snell (27), W8 Jace Kempton (26), W94 Robert Dunbar (23), W21 Colm O’Riordan (22), W78 Shayne Doust (20), W69 Paul Joss (20), W0 Jamie Oldfield (20), W22 Rowan Drysdale (10), W82 Jack McAuley (10), W81 Peter Walker (10), W73 Ray Clifton (10), W45 Philip Lockhart (9), W29 Jake Hoath (7), W23 Steve Griffiths (2). DQ: W19 Stevie O’Dowd. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 2.177. Fastest Lap: 20.848 WA6 Hayden Norman