Noakes Takes South Coast Classic

by | Mar 10, 2018 | Latest News, Results

Speedway Sedans Australia News

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Clint Noakes put on a dominating performance from pole to lead all 25 laps to win the South Coast Classic ahead of Rick Musarra and Matt Noakes at Albanys Attwell Park Speedway.

Although he was not the highest point scorer throughout the six preliminary heat races, he was able to defeat all his foes ahead of him in the pole shootout where he worked his way from sixth to start off the pole alongside Musarra.

Thirteen cars would start the feature race with Sean Theyer and Adam Houston unable to start after a nasty accident in their final heat race, while Miranda Ball, Allan Mortimer and Aydan Trewern did not make it out of their first heats.

The feature race started at a frantic pace with Noakes leading Musarra and Bill Penn. Kim Williams would be the first retiree on lap eight, while just one lap later newly crowned Western Australian Champion, Anthony King, would suffer mechanical dramas and pull onto the infield.

Disaster struck with eleven laps to go when Penn spun while fighting for second place, with Ray Clifton and Paul Stevens having no-where to go, collecting Penn seeing all three drivers unable to restart.

This would elevate Matt Noakes to the third position on the restart, who was now in a good battle with Mick Johnson and Blake Jackson, with Jackson able to slide past Johnson on lap sixteen to take over fourth place.

The race belonged to Clint Noakes, who was able to cruise away to the race victory. Clint, now with brother Matt, Allan Mortimer and Mick Johnson will turn their attention to Horsham for the National Modified Sedan Title on the Easter Long Weekend.

Feature, 25 Laps: 1. W23 Clint Noakes, 2. W21 Rick Musarra, 3. W20 Matt Noakes, 4. W41 Blake Jackson, 5. W32 Mick Johnson, 6. W2 Peter Fraser, 7. W8 Calon Ball (15), 8. W57 Bill Penn (14), 9. W73 Ray Clifton (14), 10. W47 Shane Dubberlin (13), 11. W1 Anthony King (9), 12. W33 Kim Williams (8), DNS: W4 Miranda Ball, W11 Sean Theyer, W12 Aydan Trewern, W18 Adam Houston, W74 Allan Mortimer, DISQ: W6 Paul Stevens

Details courtesy of Morgan Melvin
Photo courtesy of Sheldon Nouchy