Noakes Claims South Australian Title

by | Apr 14, 2018 | Latest News, Results

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Clint Noakes has won the South Australian Modified Sedan Title at the Sunline Speedway on Saturday night, becoming just the third West Australian to win a South Australian title across all categories, and the first to ever win the Modified Sedan crown.

Noakes was a late entry for the event, after originally entering for an event at Warrnambool which was subsequently washed out.
David Smith and Ty Galley would start the twenty lap main event on the front row, while Martin Hawson and Noakes would start on row two.

Galley would get the best of the opening exchange, but panel work cut down a right rear tyre ending the event for the Victorian.
Noakes had moved to second and was elevated to the lead with the demise of Galley, with David Smith second and Hawson third.

Hawson and Wade McCarthy had a good battle for third, as Noakes opened a gap on Smith. McCarthy and Hawson traded third place throughout the middle of the race, as Noakes cruised to a near three second win over Smith. Hawson got the better of McCarthy in the concluding stages, while West Australian Allan Mortimer would pass Angelo Halacas on the final lap to fifth.

A Main, 20 Laps: 1. W23 Clint Noakes, 2. MDA19 David Smith, 3. MDA72 Martin Hawson, 4. MDA6 Wade McCarthy, 5. W74 Allan Mortimer, 6. MDA86 Angelo Halacas, 7. MDA3 Neil Watson, 8. S0 Trevor Raams, 9. S8 Marty Raams, 10. S44 Justin Demaine (19 laps), 11. S16 Adam Haseldine (11), 12. V88 Ty Galley (6), 13. S93 Jason Demaine (4), 14. MDA61 Matt Nelson (2). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 2.825, Fastest Lap: 17.412 W23 Clint Noakes

Photo courtesy of Sheldon Nouchy