by | Feb 27, 2023 | QLD, SSA Modified Sedans

Official Release- Sunday 26th February 2023.

Toowoomba’s Nathan Macdonald is the new Queensland Modified Sedan Champion after a stirring drive at the McCosker Rocky Speedway in the central part of the state last night.

After starting from position six for the forty lap main event, Macdonald hit the lead with just three laps remaining after a frantic battle in the final laps with T-Bar Nationals Champion Joel Berkley in the Cush Clothing Ford Falcon.

Thirty Eight Modified Sedans took part in the 2023 SSA Modified Sedan Queensland State Title which was held at the Rockhampton Showgrounds for the very first time.

Berkley along with the Ford Cortina of Townsville’s Adam Jorgensen would share the front row for main event.

The main event was a race of changing fortunes with Berkley opening a big lead ahead of the Holden Commodores of Max Clarke from Northern New South Wales and Rocky local Mason Cameron.

Three Times National Champion Mark Carlin aboard his Adam Holt Industries backed Nissan was soon contending for a podium position along with Macdonald who was in fifth by lap fifteen.

Mason Cameron’s turn at the front came on lap twenty five after Berkley began to run the highline falling back through the field as the leaders hit lap traffic.

Berkley wrestled back the lead from Cameron with Macdonald and Carlin still in contention with ten laps remaining.

Outgoing Queensland Champion Mick Shelford’s race would be over on lap thirty one along with three time champion Aidan Raymont who ran inside the top seven for most of the race.

A restart with only a handful of laps remaining saw Macdonald and Cameron continue the scrap for second behind the leader Berkley with the Linmac Automotive backed entry of Macdonald using the low line to hit the front within sight of the finish.

After many years of trying Nathan Macdonald would finally taste victory in the Queensland State Title for Modified Sedans defeating Berkley by 0.350 of a second with Mason Cameron officially third from former national champions Max Clarke and Mark Carlin.

Nathan Macdonald now joins his brother Shane on the honour roll for the event with the family big supporters of the class.

Official Result of the 2023 SSA Modified Sedans Queensland State Title

A Main, 40 Laps- 1. CR32 Nathan Macdonald, 2. CR9 Joel Berkley, 3. RK26 Mason Cameron, 4. N15 Max Clarke, 5. CR2 Mark Carlin, 6. SB55 Josh Harm, 7. BW18 Brady Roberts, 8. RK22 Jack Cameron, 9. RK42 Brenton Scott, 10. MK5 Kent Menzies, 11. SC22 Shannon Blackburn, 12. CR27 Shane Macdonald, 13. CR93 Jason Beer, 14. C55 Joshua Schultz (39), 15. CR17 Nathan Lowe (39), 16. MK19 Wayne Gilroy (39), DNF T25 Adam Jorgensen (32), G28 Aidan Raymont (31), Q1 Mick Shelford (31), T28 Hayden Stephensen (30), SB44 Kipp Barron (28), RK41 Braith Thomas (26), B47 Steven Quirk (21), CR72 Shane Langton (17).