by | Nov 8, 2020 | QLD, SSA Super Sedans

Photo Courtesy of 44 Photography

Three Time National Super Sedan Champion Mick Nicola has started the new season off with an outstanding drive to win the opening round of the 2020/2021 McCosker Super Sedan Series held last night at the Archerfield Speedway.

Nicola lead all thirty circulations of the Brisbane venue ahead of the Ford Wreckers Redcliffe Sweet of Sam Roza and the National Champion Darren Kane in his Ian Boettcher Race Parts Dominator.

Toowoomba’s Sean Black and Nicola occupied the front row for the main event with Roza quickly moving into second place as the SSA Super Sedans put on a great spectacle.

The first stoppage occurred on lap thirteen when multiple National Champion Matt Pascoe brought the Rockhampton Mazda Sweet to a stop on the outside of the racetrack with damaged steering.

Tony Brinkmann and Ian Brims then came together straight after the restart with Kingaroy’s David Musch also heading infield.

As the laps wound down Nicola had the race safely in his keeping as Kane and Black tried in vein to steal second place away from Roza.

Nicola held on to win aboard his new V3 KO from Roza, Kane, Black and a fast closing Gavin Northfield.

The third round of the 2020/2021 McCosker Super Sedan Series will be held at the Fraser Shores Maryborough Speedway on Saturday 21st November 2020.

Official Result

A Main, 30 Laps: 1. V3 Mick Nicola, 2. 77 Sam Roza, 3. A1 Darren Kane, 4. Q26 Sean Black, 5. Q15 Gavin Northfield, 6. Steve Jordan, 7. 20 Nicholas O’Keefe, 8. 44 Trent Wilson, 9. N111 Hayden Brims, 10. 29 Bob McCosker, 11. Josh McLaren, 12. 98 Michael Hally, 13. 2 Craig Hammond, DNF 63 Justin Smithwick (21), N3 Tania Smith (16), 12 David Musch (14), 76 Ian Brims (14), 19 Tony Brinkmann (14), 31 Matt Pascoe (13), 51 Zac Pascoe (13)

McCosker Contracting Super Sedan Series is proudly supported by:

Ian Boettcher Race Parts

Ken Mills Toyota

Queensland Speedway Spares

Hervey Bay Tilt Tray Hire

Rockhampton Mazda

TMS Sportswear

Ford Wreckers Redcliffe

Lockyer Bins

Kempy Race Pipes

Afco Shock Doctor

Barnes Drilling

Topline Australia