Nicola Jnr Takes Honours

by | Nov 18, 2018 | Latest News, Results

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Defending Series Champion, Mick Nicola Jnr has won the opening round of the Victorian Super Sedan Association at the Heartland Raceway, Moama on Saturday night, the home of this seasons National Title.

Nicola Jnr led all the way in the main event, after starting on the front row with Queenslands Sam Roza, who would ultimately remain in second throughout the fifteen lap A Main.

Lucas Roberts was third for most of the race, but would retire to the infield with six laps remaining, which elevated Ash Bergmeier to third place.

Nicola Jnr held a slender lead over Roza in the concluding stages, with less than two car lengths separating the duo at the chequered flag with Bergmeier a similar distance away in third.

The three preceding qualifying heats were won by three different drivers, with Roberts winning the opener from Roza and Mick Nicola, before Nicola downed Roza and Bergmeier in heat two. Nicola Jnr comfortable won the final qualifying heat, defeating Bergmeier and Jamie Collins.

Round two of the series will be held on Boxing night, 26 December 2018 at the Bairnsdale Raceway.

:: Super Sedans

Heat 1, 10 Laps: 1. V0 Lucas Roberts, 2. Q77 Sam Roza, 3. V3 Mick Nicola, 4. V23 Mick Nicola Jnr, 5. N47 Daryl Moon, 6. V34 Jamie Collins, 7. V16 Ash Bergmeier, 8. W93 Kym Jury, 9. V25 Adam Box (3 laps). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 1.882, Fastest Lap: 18.958 V0 Lucas Roberts

Heat 2, 10 Laps: 1. V3 Mick Nicola, 2. Q77 Sam Roza, 3. V16 Ash Bergmeier, 4. V23 Mick Nicola Jnr, 5. N47 Darry Moon, 6. S93 Kym Jury, 7. V34 Jamie Collins, 8. V0 Lucas Roberts, 9. V25 Adam Box. Time: 3.07.743, Winning Margin: 0.629, Fastest Lap: 18.183 V23 Mick Nicola Jnr

Heat 3, 10 Laps: 1. V23 Mick Nicola Jnr, 2. V16 Ash Bergmeier, 3. V34 Jamie Collins, 4. S93 Kym Jury, 5. V25 Adam Box, 6. Q77 Sam Roza, 7. V0 Lucas Roberts, 8. V3 Mick Nicola, 9. N47 Darryl Moon. Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 3.102, Fastest Lap: 17.836 V23 Mick Nicola Jnr

Feature Race, 15 Laps: 1. V23 Mick Nicola Jnr, 2. Q77 Sam Roza. 3. V16 Ash Bergmeier, 4. V34 Jamie Collins, 5. S93 Kym Jury, 6. V25 Adam Box, 7. N47 Daryl Moon, 8. V0 Lucas Roberts (9 laps), 9. V3 Mick Nicola (0), Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.605, Fastest Lap: 17.568 V23 Mick Nicola Jnr

The VSSA would like to thank our Sponsors for the 2018/2019 season

Bergmeier Engineering
American Racing Tyres
Jurys Liquid Waste
Provac Poultry Services
Australian Racing Products Warehouse
RJS Tree Services
Insane Chassis
Wicks Transport
Eastern Suburbs Locksmiths
Tralalgon Car Sales