by | Nov 21, 2021 | SSA Junior Sedans, SSA Production Sedans, SSA Street Stocks, WA

Press Release Courtesy of the South West Sedan Championship, Images by Fastlane Photography

The second round of the Ivix Industries South West Sedan Championships will shake up the top end of the point tally, with three new winners crossing the line first at the Trade Hire Augusta Margaret River Speedway.

Aydan Trewern, Ethan Genev, and Jaxon Buszan all won their first-ever round wins over the night excitingly.For Buszan in the Junior Sedans, he had to work overtime to get back to the lead after the pole man missed a gear at the start dropping him to the tail of the field.

During the event scheduled over the 15 laps, Buszan worked tirelessly to get back to the front, and by lap eight, he was back into the lead.On lap ten, the race crashed to a halt when Jesse James Samuels hit the concrete wall along the back straight.

The accident needed the attention of the medics, and due to time restraints, the race was declared with an excited Buszan credited with the win from Makayla Hinsey and Matthew Thomson.

Brandon Buszan

It was a bitter pill to swallow for Junior Sedan series leader Harrison Beres, after a constant night of racing seeing him start on the outside of the front row, Beres could not take his position as the car would not start.

Trewern’s night was a little bit easier, leading from start to finish in the Production Sedan Feature.

Trewern did the unthinkable by defeating Kyle Sayer at his home track with Sayer in Trewern’s tracks for the entirety of the 20 Lap Feature as Moora’s Jayden McCuish came home in third.

The Street Stocks was the most exciting event of the night as it was local Clint Hadley leading the field to the green light.

Hadley’s night would come undone in the lapped traffic, being swamped by a trio of Collie drivers with Phil Lycholit, Ethan Genev, and Paul Joss all getting by Hadley.

Lycholit would cross the line first ahead of his Collie counterparts but was relegated to third at the end of the race.

The stewards had deemed that Lycholit had passed lapped cars on the infield, gaining an advantage meaning Genev would win with Joss coming home in third after a rough time during the heats.

The South West Sedan Championship will have a short turnaround as next weekend will be round three held at the Tyrepower Manjimup Speedway.

Official Results

SSA Street Stock Feature Race, 25 Laps- 1. W4 Ethan Genev, 2. W69 Paul Joss, 3. W199 Phil Lycholit, 4. W16 Clint Hadley, 5. W24 Jake Williams, 6. W0 David Fall, 7. W52 Paul Bowman, 8. W136 Jody Waghorn, 9. W17 Jason Whild, 10. W19 Steve Rodley, 11. 57 Wayne Fairbrass, 12. W101 Tracy Saunders, DNF: W51 Justin Melhuish, DNS: W50 Gavin Yates, W10 Damon Thomson, W18 Daniel Stanley, W84 Brooke Oldfield, W22 Mitchell Woods.

SSA Production Sedan Feature Race, 20 Laps- 1. W12 Aydan Trewern, 2. W95 Kyle Sayer, 3. W58 Jayden McCuish, 4. W111 Tom Wilde, 5. W86 Wayne Leviston, 6. W36 Joe Wilson, 7. W77 Hayden Purnell, 8. W75 Stephen Pearce, 9. W26 Robbie Trenaman, 10. W63 Mark McDonald, DNF: W60 Richard Nelson, W4 Clint Theyer, DNS: W54 Graeme Rafferty, W73 Shaune Toye, W48 Matthew Jones, W57 Kelsey Beard, W380 Bruce Bell.

SSA Top Star Junior Sedan Feature Race, 15 Laps- 1. W199 Jaxon Buszan, 2. W64 Makayla Hinsey, 3. W15 Matthew Thomson, 4. W40 Vince Lindsay, 5. W63 Fletcher Milentis, 6. W33 Tehila Bosley, DNF: W31 Jesse James Samuels, DNS: W18 Harrison Beres, W198 Brandon Buszan.


Ivix Industries

WM&C Transport

Hadley Earthworks

Down Under Graphics

Pirtek Bunbury

Cush Clothing’Co

HTEC Bunbury

Michael Holmes Racing

Heatleys Safety & Industrial

DEMON Racecar Fibreglass WA

Dirt Track Nutters

Shanoweb Designs