Nelson Reigns Supreme At Toowoomba

by | May 6, 2019 | Latest News, QLD, SSA Street Stocks


Speedway Sedans Australia News

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Victorian, Matt Nelson has won the Queensland Street Stock Title at the Hi-Tec Oils Raceway, Toowoomba on Sunday night, after the program was washed out on Saturday night.

Nelson, would lead all forty laps after starting on the front row for the main event with Lenny Bates, while Nathan Barbeler and Steven Gartner would start on row two.

It would not end well for Barbeler, after he, Darren Ciesiolka, Andrew Burgoyne and Corey Sandow all lasted just two laps.

On the restart, Queensland Champion Robert Trapp moved to second, but Bates took back the position on lap six.

Travis Hutchison was making a move through the field on lap fifteen, moving to fourth place, but he too would succumb soon after.
Meanwhile, Nelson held a small lead over Bates and Trapp, with Jamie Lock taking third place from Trapp with a dozen laps remaining.
Nelson, would go on to win by six car lengths over Bates, with the same margin back to Lock in third place. Robert Trapp just held on to fourth place over Mick Dann, with Luke Wilkinson and John Lodge Jnr the only other drivers to complete all forty laps.

A Main, 40 Laps: 1. V61 Matt Nelson, 2. V74 Lenny Bates, 3. V43 Jamie Lock, 4. Q1 Robert Trapp, 5. S129 Mick Dann, 6. Q31 Luke Wilkinson, 7. N11 John Lodge Jnr, 8. Q81 David Barbeler (38 laps), 9. Q68 Kenneth Simpson (35), 10. Q99 Peter Thompson (35), 11. S32 Steve Gartner (36), 12. V82 Shane Roycroft (35), 13. Q7 Travis Hutchison (28), 14. Q96 Ben Langton (25), 15. Q99 Callum Auld (21), 16. NT15 Sam Brumfield (11), 17. Q94 Fletcher Smith (10), 18. Q88 Nathan Barbeler (2), 19. V22 Corey Sandow (2), 20. V13 Andrew Burgoyne (2), 21. Q3 Darren Ciesiolka (2). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 1.805, Fastest Lap: 16.672 Q1 Robert Trapp

Photo courtesy of 44 Photography