by | Apr 29, 2023 | SSA Super Sedans

Official Release- Saturday 29th April 2023.

New South Welshman Tyson Moon is your overnight leader in the 2023 Cush Clothing Speedway Sedans Australia National Super Sedan Title that is being held this weekend ar Corbet’s Group Gympie Speedway in Queensland.

Thirty four competitors contested the opening night of the last national title of the season for Speedway Sedans Australia.

Sixteen year old JJ Hamilton kicked off his first National Title campaign with a win from pole position in heat one.

Hamilton led home Victoria’s Lucas Roberts in second, and Queensland’s David Musch in third.

Darren Kane kicked off his quest for a fifth National crown with a win in heat two. Tasmanian and Victorian Champion Jamie Collins crossed the line second ahead of Mick Nicola Jnr, who would receive a two place penalty, promoting Moon to third.

Trent Wilson jumped to the lead from the outside of the front row to take the win in heat three. Zac Pascoe would finish second, ahead of Mick Nicola Snr in third.

Brad Pascoe won a tight tussle at the start of heat four to go on to a heat race win. Sean Black crossed the line second, ahead of Hayden Brims in third.

‘The Joker’ Steve Jordan lead the way in heat five, from defending National Champion Matty Pascoe in second.

Brims would cross the line third to secure back to back podiums.Moon secured his first win of the night in heat six.

Brad Pascoe surged from the back of the pack to cross the line second, ahead of Sam Roza in third.

Nicola Snr set the pace in heat seven, and just held on from a fast finishing Justin Randall in second.

Nicola Jnr rounded out the podium in third.Mitchell Gee bounced back from a flat tyre in his opening heat to take a comfortable win in heat eight.

Musch crossed the line second for his second podium finish of the night.

Tasmania’s Callum Harper rounded out the podium in third.

Moon went back to back taking the win in heat nine. Hayden Brims held off Matty Pascoe by one thousandth of second to claim the runner up spot from Pascoe in third.

Roza came out on top in a frenetic battle with Gee to claim the win in heat ten. Gee crossed the line second, ahead of Roberts in third.

Tasmania’s Luke Gunn lead the field home in the penultimate heat of the night, but the action was on for young and old behind him.

Brad Pascoe got shuffled out the back early in the piece and fell from fourth to seventh.

Pascoe got up on the wheel and surged through the field including a last lap pass on Brims to finish second.

Michael Hally crossed the line in third.Justin Randall capped off a strong night with a dominant win in the final heat of the night.

Randall took the win from Harper in second and Matt Williams in third.

Drivers will return tomorrow for a further round of heats.

The top sixteen will lock straight into the A Main, and the top six from the B Main will complete the twenty two car field for the 51st running of the SSA National Super Sedan Title.

Official Pointscore After Night One

1. N47 Tyson Moon 95

2. Q18 Brad Pascoe 92

3. Q77 Sam Roza 76

4. N77 Hayden Brims 74

5. Q44 Trent Wilson 70

6. Q33 Justin Randall 70

7. V44 Mick Nicola Snr 69

8. Q11 Mitchell Gee 69

9. T22 Callum Harper 68

10. Q10 Steve Jordan 63

11. Q26 Sean Black 62

12. V34 Jamie Collins 62

13. Q36 Darren Kane 59

14. Q12 David Musch 59

15. A1 Matty Pascoe 59

16. T12 Luke Gunn 59

17. V0 Lucas Roberts 57

18. Q48 JJ Hamilton 50

19. Q28 Zac Pascoe 47

20. V23 Mick Nicola Jnr 46

21. Q98 Michael Hally 41

22. N29 Zac Brims 38

23. Q3 Matt Williams 36

24. Q6 Ty Pascoe 36

25. S18 Dave Gartner 35

26. Q27 Ryan Cats 33

27. Q47 Barry Craft 32

28. Q4 Mark Pagel 31

29. Q15 Gavin Northfield 29

30. N57 Daryl Moon 26

31. T3 David Nichols 22

32. Q96 Josh McLaren 20

33. Q42 Michael Taylor 14

34. N7 Wayne Dick 13