by | Feb 5, 2021 | SSA Modified Sedans

Following the action and excitement that emanated from the Firecracker 1000 last month, Modified Sedan drivers have responded to the opportunity for an additional outing at Archerfield Speedway with a strong nineteen car field secured despite short notice and other club shows scheduled at Rockhampton and Gympie this weekend.

Leading the charge will be Macdonald brothers from Toowoomba, Nathan and Shane, who finished first and third respectively in the Firecracker Feature last month that doubled as the grand final of the Summer of Speed Series.

Another Toowoomba based runner, Rodney Pammenter looms as one of their biggest threats among the nominations. Pammenter led the Firecracker feature momentarily before a flat tyre intervened, a misfortune that will no doubt have him fired up to make amends this weekend.

With a last lap scramble dropping him outside the top five at the last outing in Brisbane, Darran Lester will be keen to bounce back with a podium result or better this time round. Modified Sedan stalwart Greg Worling is another expected to feature prominently this Saturday night along with the return of David Jacobi.

Darren Baldwin had a solid performance at the Summer of Speed grand final while Josh Arthurs who’s currently sits third in the Toowoomba Series is among the list of drivers.

The event shapes up to be a cracker, with drivers contesting 2 rounds of heats before they will all qualify for the 25 lap feature race.

Pit Gates open at 2pm with early racing commencing at approx. 5pm, with the main program commencing at 6pm.

Main gates for spectators opening at 3:30pm. Huge thanks to all the drivers particularly the locals who have rallied and jumped at the opportunity to race at home this weekend.

The support we’ve already received along the number of enquiries of other drivers excited by the potential of more regular racing in Brisbane has got many current, existing and new drivers excited about Modified Sedans again.

Here’s the nominations for this Saturday night.

Nominations (19)

Alex Sweeney

Chris Evans

Darren Baldwin

Darran Lester

Darren Lyon

David Jacobi

Greg Worling

Jake Hawkins

Jason Dreaver

Josh Arthur

Leonie Knight

Lucas Townsend

Michael Cheeseman

Nathan Macdonald

Peter White

Quinton Clarke

Rodney Pammenter

Russell Harris

Shane Macdonald