Mills Defends Victorian Title

by | Feb 4, 2018 | Latest News, Results

Speedway Sedans Australia News

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

National Production Sedan Champion, Trevor Mills, has successful defended his Victorian Production Sedan Title, held at Rushworth Speedway on Saturday night.

Mills would defeat Stephen Laidlaw and Wayne Bourke in the thirty five lap main event.

Mills and Laidlaw would start on the front row for the decider, with Ray Ussher and Craig McAlister on the second row.

It would not be a happy race for Wes Barnes or Steven Terry, with both on the infield after one lap, while Ussher lasted just three.

Nothing separated Mills and Laidlaw throughout, with Craig McAlister moving to third with the demise of Ussher. Further back in the field, Damien McAlister and Matthew Hutchinson would be fourth and fifth, but it would be the steady rise of Wayne Bourke who would be making all the moves.

Bourke started on the fifth row, moving to eighth by lap ten, to sixth by lap fifteen, fifth on lap twenty two, then fourth on lap twenty six. His ascension to third place was complete just a couple of laps from the finish.

Meanwhile Mills and Laidlaw were separated by one or two car lengths throughout the journey and were well clear of the opposition. Mills would cross the line first to defend his title, his second Victorian crown, to go with four New South Wales State Titles. Laidlaw finished on the podium for the first time since 2009, when he was the runner-up in Portland, while for Wayne Bourke it was his first time on the Victorian Podium.

Craig McAlister finished fourth, while Damien McAlister and Steven Aldridge, who started at the back of the field, crossed the line practically together to finish fifth and sixth respectively, while Jack Milthorpe and Adam Wilson, who had a horror run in the qualifying heats were the remaining drivers to finish on the lead lap.

Earlier, Laidlaw and Craig McAlister would win the opening round heats, with Laidlaw winning again in heat three, with Mills winning heat four. Damien McAlister would narrowly win heat five before Mills won the final qualifier to set up a front row start with Laidlaw.

:: Victorian Production Sedan Title

Heat 1, 10 Laps: 1. V30 Stephen Laidlaw, 2. A1 Trevor Mills, 3. V91 Dehne Sparrow, 4. S34 Adam Wilson, 5. N12 Steven Terry, 6. V26 Gemma Laidlaw, 7. N58 Trent Nicolia, 8. N56 Justin Hawkins (5 laps), 9. V35 Steven Aldridge (5). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 1.317, Fastest Lap: 19.689 A1 Trevor Mills

Heat 2, 10 Laps: 1. N32 Craig McAlister, 2. N28 Wes Barnes, 3. N23 Damien McAlister, 4. N8 Brendan Harper, 5. V5 Jack Milthorpe, 6. N27 Wayne Bourke, 7. N17 Rodney Anderson, 8. N19 Matthew Hutchinson, 9. V98 Ray Ussher (9 laps). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.816, Fastest Lap: 20.318 N8 Brendan Harper

Heat 3, 10 Laps: 1. V30 Stephen Laidlaw, 2. N23 Damien McAlister, 3. N8 Brendan Harper, 4. N58 Trent Nicolia, 5. N17 Rodney Anderson, 6. N12 Steven Terry, 7. N28 Wes Barnes (9 laps), 8. V5 Jack Milthorpe (6), 9. S34 Adam Wilson (4). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 1.223, Fastest Lap: 19.612 V30 Stephen Laidlaw

Heat 4, 10 Laps: 1. A1 Trevor Mills, 2. V32 Craig McAlister, 3. N19 Matthew Hutchinson, 4. V35 Steven Aldridge, 5. N27 Wayne Bourke, 6. V91 Dehne Sparrow, 7. N56 Justin Hawkins, 8. V26 Gemma Laidlaw, 9. V98 Ray Ussher (9 laps). Time: 3.19.676, Winning Margin: 2.572, Fastest Lap: 19.545 A1 Trevor Mills

Heat 5, 10 Laps: 1. N23 Damien McAlister, 2. N19 Matthew Hutchinson, 3. V98 Ray Ussher, 4. N32 Craig McAlister, 5. N27 Wayne Bourke, 6. V35 Steven Aldridge, 7. V26 Gemma Laidlaw, 8. N56 Justin Hawkins (9). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.414, Fastest Lap: 20.240 N23 Damien McAlister

Heat 6, 10 Laps: 1. A1 Trevor Mills, 2. V30 Stephen Laidlaw, 3. N58 Trent Nicolia, 4. N12 Steven Terry, 5. N17 Rodney Anderson, 6. V5 Jack Milthorpe, 7. S34 Adam Wilson (1 lap), 8. N8 Brendan Harper (0), 9. N28 Wes Barnes (0). Time: 3.19.571, Winning Margin: 0.913, Fastest Lap: 19.524 V30 Stephen Laidlaw

A Main, 35 Laps: 1. A1 Trevor Mills, 2. V30 Stephen Laidlaw, 3. N27 Wayne Bourke, 4. N32 Craig McAlister, 5. N23 Damien McAlister, 6. V35 Steven Aldridge, 7. V5 Jack Milthorpe, 8. S34 Adam Wilson, 9. V26 Gemma Laidlaw (34 laps), 10. N17 Rodney Anderson (34), 11. N58 Trent Nicolia (28), 12. N8 Brendan Harper (28), 13. N19 Matthew Hutchinson (25), 14. V98 Ray Ussher (3), 15. N12 Steven Terry (1), 16. N28 Wes Barnes (1). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.553, Fastest Lap: 19.872 A1 Trevor Mills

Photo courtesy of Inaction Photos