by | Apr 10, 2022 | Uncategorized

Official Release- Sunday 10th April 2022

Carter Metcalfe from Mildura in Victoria has become the 2022 SSA National Junior Sedan Champion tonight at the Alexandra Speedway in what was a thrilling final night of competition.

Metcalfe defeated Western Australian Kayne Dellar by 3.125 seconds with South Australian Aaron Tranter crossing the line in third place at the end of the twenty five A Main.

Seventy two SSA Junior Sedans contested the second night of the National Title after Victorian James Oliver & Queensland’s Cooper Flynn were unable to taking part during the final night.

The final round of heat racing began just after 2pm in front of a very healthy crowd in what were brilliant weather conditions at the picturesque Alexandra Speedway.

Queensland’s Billy Macdonald claimed the opening win of the day defeating New South Welshman Jaiden Santin & Victorian Jacob Tinworth after Karlia Riley unfortunately had her second heavy crash of the weekend in the Riley Racing Mitsubishi Lancer.

Western Australian Champion Beau Oldfield bounced back after a disappointing opening day to take the maximum points on offer in heat twenty three from Harry Fowler who held off fellow Queenslanders Kaine Richters, Kurtis Peall & Western Australian Brody Day.

Heat Twenty Four witnessed Rhys Meakins endure a heavy rollover in the Kilmore Towing & Transport Mitsubishi Lancer while sitting in second place after contact with another car.

Kayne Dellar led all eight laps to record his fourth heat win of the weekend to lock down a front row start for the A Main.

An excited Will Shore took out his second heat win of the weekend in his Adam Holt Industries Mitsubishi Mirage in heat twenty five taking a comfortable victory over Lachlan Robins & Victorian Christine Oliver.

South Australian Champion Aaron Tranter made his presence felt in the National Title with another heat win in heat twenty six before Brodie Hollyman took his Q12 to victory in heat twenty seven.

Carter Metcalfe was a delighted winner of the final heat race of the weekend in heat twenty eight confirming pole position for the driver of the Mildura Crash Supplies Hyundai Excel.

Just Nine cars contested the ten lap C Main with Tasmanian Alex McMillan & Victorian Jasmine Bryant moving through into the two B Mains.

The first of two twenty lap B Mains were contested as the sun set on the Alexandra Speedway.

A fierce battle at the front of the field for the three transfer positions into the A Main was contested between Linken Paterson, Brody Day, Jackson Goldie, Cameron Smith & Billy Macdonald in the opening twenty lap stanza.

Cameron Smith found the concrete wall while challenging for third place with the right front wheel parting company with the Sign FX Hyundai Excel from Mildura.

Linken Paterson had the home crowd on their feet as held on in a dramatic race from Brody Day & Jackson Goldie all going through into the main event.

An incident plagued B Main two witnessed Victorians Will Shore, River Paterson & Kiarna Barton transferring through as Tasmanian Brandan Austen threw everything at both Barton & Paterson in the concluding stages as he just missed out in the rebuilt Hyundai Excel.

Twenty two starters would face the green in the A Main for the 2022 Raslarr Engineering SSA National Junior Sedan Title under lights at the Alexandra Speedway.

The pair of Hyundai Excels of Carter Metcalfe & Kayne Dellar would lead the field to the green flag at the start of a much anticipated contest.

Metcalfe assumed the lead on the opening before Harry Fowler would spin in turn three in front of the oncoming traffic as the field all tried to take evasive action to avoid the incident.

Bundaberg’s Kurtis Peall was the only car not able to continue on in the race with heavy damage to his Daihatsu Charade.

The race resumed with Metcalfe again pulling away from the field ahead of Kayne Dellar as South Australian Champion Aaron Tranter moved into third place in the early laps.

Metcalfe soon set about opening up a lead of over three seconds from Dellar, Tranter, 2021 Tasmanian champion Lachlan Robins & Queensland Champion Aidan Rigby.

Robins was soon under pressure from Jayden Hancock with the two racing side by side for many laps.

Lap fourteen saw the red lights come on as Lachlan Robins rolled his Mitsubishi Mirage in turn four while sitting in fifth place.

Jayden Bryant, Brody Day, Jackson Goldie & Kaine Richters all suffered damage in the incident which saw them unable to continue in the race.

The race resumed with Metcalfe continuing to lead from Dellar, Tranter, Rigby and Jayden Hancock.

Metcalfe again pulled a gap on the field as Tranter went to work on finding a way past Dellar for second with Tranter assuming the position on lap twenty two.

It would be Carter Metcalfe’s weekend as the driver of the VA10 Hyundai Excel lead all twenty five laps to claim victory in the 2022 Raslarr Engineering SSA National Junior Sedan Title by over three seconds.

Kayne Dellar found a way back past Tranter on the final corner for second with Queensland Champion Aidan Rigby crossing the linein fourth with Jayden Hancock rounding out the top five.

Western Australian Champion Beau Oldfield moved from position sixteen to be sixth by race end with Donny Davis, Brodie Hollyman, Will Shore and Victorian Nathan Miles rounding out the top ten.

Carter Metcalfe was a very popular winner as he thanked his parents along with his valued supporters and sponsors for making his racing career and victory in a National Title possible.

The 2022 Speedway Sedans Australia National Titles continue next weekend with the Production Sedan event to be contested at the Kingaroy Speedway in Queensland.

Official Result of the 2022 SSA National Junior Sedan Title

A Main, 25 Laps-1. VA10 Carter Metcalfe, 2. W95 Kayne Dellar, 3. S45 Aaron Tranter 4. Q28 Aidan Rigby, 5. Q7 Jayden Hancock, 6. W84 Beau Oldfield, 7. W3 Donny Davis, 8. Q12 Brodie Hollyman, 9. V15 Will Shore, 10. V12 Nathan Miles, 11. V48 Linken Paterson, 12. V19 Kiarna Barton, 13. V10 Breanna Simpson, 14. Q23 Harry Fowler (24). DNF: N17 Jaiden Santin (16), V49 Jayden Bryant (14), WA8 Brody Day (14), Q32 Kaine Richters (14), NA17 Jackson Goldie (14), V47 River Paterson (14), T48 Lachlan Robins (14), Q11 Kurtis Peall (0), Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 3.125. Fastest Lap: 21.831 VA10 Carter Metcalfe.