Melvin Wins At Bunbury

by | Dec 2, 2018 | Latest News, Results

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Alec Melvin has won an entertaining Production Sedan Feature race at the Make Smoking History, Bunbury Speedway on Saturday night.

After three qualifying heats, Wayne Leviston was successful twice, while Jake Blight would win the third and final qualifying heat.

The pair would start on the front row for the fifteen lap main event, with Blight immediately taking the lead, and started to open a handy lead.

Leviston meanwhile would have his hands full with Ryan Yates and Ricky Williams in a great three way battle for the minor placings.

As the race went on, Blight would move further away from the opposition, as Jason Oldfield started to close in on the chasing pack.

With five laps remaining, the race would be turned on its head, with Blights car overheating, putting him on the infield, setting up a thrilling finish, with very little separating Leviston, Oldfield and Melvin in the concluding stages.

Melvin made the decisive move with four laps remaining, holding off Leviston and Oldfield with the three separated by just 0.551.

State Champion, Barry Rose had electrical issues with his potent Sigma, with his best result being a fifth place in the opening heat, while Bev Brewer and former State Champion, Drew Ogle also failed to see the Feature Race.

Heat 1, 8 Laps: 1. W86 Wayne Leviston, 2. W15 Ryan Yates, 3. W61 Jake Blight, 4. W84 Jason Oldfield, 5. WA1 Barry Rose, 6. W92 Ricky Williams, 7. W88 Alec Melvin, 8. W26 Drew Ogle, 9. W7 Leticia Hamon. DNF: W42 Bev Brewer (6). Total Time: 2.53.757. Winning Margin: 1.917. Fastest Lap: 21.168 W61 Jake Blight.

Heat 2, 8 Laps: 1. W86 Wayne Leviston, 2. W88 Alec Melvin, 3. W92 Ricky Williams, 4. W61 Jake Blight, 5. W15 Ryan Yates, 6. W26 Drew Ogle, 7. WA1 Barry Rose, 8. W84 Jason Oldfield, 9. W7 Leticia Hamon. DNS: W42 Bev Brewer. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.205. Fastest Lap: 29.902 W86 Wayne Leviston.

Heat 3, 8 Laps: 1. W61 Jake Blight, 2.W26 Drew Ogle, 3. W92 Ricky Williams, 4. W15 Ryan Yates, 5. W86 Wayne Leviston, 6. W88 Alec Melvin, 7. W84 Jason Oldfield, 8. W7 Leticia Hamon. DNF: WA1 Barry Rose (0). DNS: W42 Bev Brewer. Total Time: 2.47.240. Winning Margin: 1.343. Fastest Lap: 20.715 W26 Drew Ogle.

Feature Race, 15 Laps: 1. W88 Alec Melvin, 2. W86 Wayne Leviston, 3. W84 Jason Oldfield, 4. W15 Ryan Yates, 5. W7 Leticia Hamon. DNF: W61 Jake Blight (10), W92 Ricky Williams (2). DNS: WA1 Barry Rose, W26 Drew Ogle, W42 Bev Brewer. Total Time: 5.21.457. Winning Margin: 0.290. Fastest Lap: 20.419 W61 Jake Blight.

Photo courtesy of Peter Roebuck