by | Dec 8, 2020 | QLD, SSA Super Sedans

Press Release by the Super Sedan Association, Image by 44 Photography

A short turn around for the McCosker Series Teams sees them at the Ian Boettcher Race Parts Kingaroy Speedway this Saturday night. A quality field of 19 drivers will contest round five of the series which is supported by Ken Mills Toyota.

Sean Black (Sweet 26) the new series points leader will be pulling out all stops to keep his momentum going and try to achieve a three peat after wins at Maryborough (round 3) and Toowoomba (round 4).

Also in the field are the series trio of Australian Champions past and present in Darren Kane Aus 1 (Dominator), Steve Jordan (Sweet 10) and Mick Nicola (KO V3).

A surprise late nomination at lunchtime today is Queensland Champion Matty Pascoe who will drive a car owned by Mick Nicola. The car is a Rocket Chassis which has never been raced, the suspension consists of a leaf spring rear end and the motor is a CT525 crate. Matty will have to start rear of the field in his heats.

Looking back at the Qld Super Sedan Series events held at the Kingaroy Showgrounds since the 2016/17 season the most dominant driver is Darren Kane with five wins. No other driver has won a series event in this time, so obviously the Ian Boettcher Race Parts Dominator comes in as the red hot favourite.

Darren is a four time Australian Champion and lists the following as his major achievements since beginning in Super Sedans in 1989 in Tasmania :- 5 x National Super Sedan Series Champion, 6 x NSW Champion, 2 x Tasmanian Champion, 2 x SA Champion, 2 x QLD Champion, Victorian Champion, WA Champion, 2 x Grenville Anderson ECGN Champion, 5 x Grand National (Tasmania) Winner, 2 x Ian Boettcher 500 Winner, Hammerdown Winner (WA), K Rock Winner. The Ian Boettcher Race Parts Dominator Gen 5 is also supported by Motorsport Fuels and DRW Racewear.

Super Sedans will contest 3 rounds of heats, the top six will then draw for positions with the remainder of the field lining up as per their points.

The feature will be 30 laps.

Grand parade and hot laps will be at 4pm.

Also on the program is the Queensland Street Stock Title and Junior Sedans.

Nominations (19)
Aust 1 Darren Kane
2 Craig Hammond
3 Mick Nicola (VIC)
7 Colin Kaine
10 Steve Jordan
11 Matty Pascoe
15 Gavin Northfield
20 Nicholas O’Keefe
26 Sean Black
35 Carter Armstrong
39 Bob McCosker
44 Trent Wilson
51 Zac Pascoe
63 Justin Smithwick
77 Sam Roza
84 Brendon Kelly
98 Michael Hally
99 Mark O’Brien
111 Hayden Brims

McCosker Contracting Super Sedan Series is also proudly supported by:
Ken Mills Toyota
Barnes Drilling
Hervey Bay Tilt Tray Hire
Ian Boettcher Race Parts
Queensland Speedway Spares
Rockhampton Mazda
TMS Sportswear
Ford Wreckers Redcliffe
Lockyer Bins
Kempy Race Pipes
Afco Shock Doctor
Topline Australia