by | Feb 2, 2021 | QLD, SSA Super Sedans

Press Release by the Super Sedan Association

Round nine of the McCosker Series has attracted a quality field of 22 drivers from Qld, NSW and Victoria for competition at the Corbet’s Group Mothar Mountain Speedway. This event marks halfway in the Series and is supported by Ian Boettcher Race Parts.

Last start feature winner and Series leader Darren Kane (Dominator Gen 5 AUS 1) and second placed Sean Black (Sweet 26) will resume their battle for series honours with both drivers having achieved much success at the unique Mothar Mountain raceway. Former National champion Steve Jordan who finished in third place at the Summer Slam event on the 27th of December is also nominated, he has sold his number 10 Sweet and so this weekend he will return to the Dominator 7 car. Victorian

Mick Nicola will also compete however he too has had a car change and will pilot the Rocket 11 leaf spring/crate motor combination that was driven by both Matty and Brad Pascoe earlier in the series. The Team made the decision to run the Rocket as the Vic 3 KO Chassis is currently in Traralgon (Vic) in preparation of running in the South Australian Titles next weekend. This gives Mick the opportunity to continue to chase points as the Team currently sits in third in the McCosker Series standings.

Other drivers to keep an eye on are Sam Roza (Sweet 77), Tania Smith (Rocket 3), Gary Pagel (Dominator 5) and Justin Smithwick (Sweet 63) who all performed well in the Ford Wreckers Redcliffe Summer Slam event in December.

Justin Smithwick currently sits 7th in the McCosker Super Sedan Series point score. He is a great supporter of the series traveling from his home in Rockhampton to every round so far this season. Justin began his racing career in a Toyota Corolla in fender benders, his current car is a Sweet chassis Chevy Impala. Justin has the support of his family, wife Natalie and children Mia and Will and his pit crew Alan Barnes, Peter Coburn and Jason Stewart. Justin’s number 63 Sweet is sponsored by Barnes Drilling, Pat Smithwick Excavations, CQ Cabinetmakers and Love Auto Electrics.

Drivers will contest 3 rounds of heats each. Qualifiers 1 thru 6 will participate in the random bottle draw. With the remaining positions locked in to the 30 lap feature.   

The round is supported by Ian Boettcher Race Parts.

Also on the program are:- City of Gympie Formula 500 Title, IBRP Production Sedan Mountain King, Modified Sedans, National 4’s, Street Stocks, Junior Sedans.

It’s going to be a huge night of action that will see racing from 5 pm on Saturday 6th February 2021.

Nominations (23)

A1 Darren Kane

2 Craig Hammond

3 Tania Smith

5 Gary Pagel

5 Ray Lane

6 Craig Craft

6 Tim O’Shea

7 Colin Kaine

7 Steve Jordan

11 Mick Nicola

15 Gavin Northfield

20 Nicholas O’Keefe

26 Sean Black

35 Carter Armstrong

39 Bob McCosker

44 Trent Wilson

51 Zac Pascoe

63 Justin Smithwick

77 Sam Roza

84 Brendon Kelly

96 Josh McLaren

111 Hayden Brims

McCosker Contracting Super Sedan Series is also proudly supported by:

Ian Boettcher Race Parts

Ken Mills Toyota

Queensland Speedway Spares

Hervey Bay Tilt Tray Hire

Rockhampton Mazda

TMS Sportswear

Ford Wreckers Redcliffe

Lockyer Bins

Kempy Race Pipes

Afco Shock Doctor

Barnes Drilling

Topline Australia