McClure Too Good At Redline

by | Nov 5, 2017 | Latest News, Results

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Redline Raceway played host to a large field of Street Stock on Saturday night, attracting some of the biggest names in Australia.

Nine hotly contested qualifying heats were held with Shaun Henry winning the first heat, which had several stoppages. Jason DeGoldi would finish second with Dean Jenkins third.

Anthony Beare came from the back of the field to win heat two, taking the lead late from Brad McClure who chose the wrong option when passing a lapped car. Nathan Dunn would complete the top three.

The third and final heat in the opening round would see an excellent three way battle for the lead, with the race going flag to flag. Mick Clark, Jeremy Weston and Queensland Champion, Darren Giacometti filled the first three placings after an excellent ten lap battle.

Anthony Beare would win heat four, leading all of the way, with Jeremy Weston a distant second with Rob Lock third.

Dean Jenkins and Mick Clark had a great battle for the lead in heat five, with Clark taking the honours after starting from position five. Jason DeGoldi would finish third.

An action packed heat six, would see Darren Giacometti, Brad McClure and Darryl Atkinson all make a good start and battle for the lead. Kylie Rae would bring on the caution lights when she hit the fence, with a further caution for Atkinson who lost the front end of his car. Giacometti would stay clear of the dramas to defeat McClure and Shaun Henry.

The final round of heats would see Anthony Beare jump to the lead early after starting from position six. Beare drove away from the field leaving the remainder to battle for the minor placings. McClure, Henry and Steven Watts all battled for second place, but Watts would soon after hit the fence. With three laps remaining, Beare who suffer a very rare mechanical issue, ending his race and night. McClure would take the win from Henry and Watts who recovered for third.

Heat eight would see two false starts, before Gerrard Mabbitt took the lead. His lead was slowly but surely eroded by Jeremy Weston, who would go on to win. Mabbitt would finish second ahead of Dean Jenkins.

The final qualifying heat would see the battle of the FG Falcons, with Darren Paisley taking the lead from Jason DeGoldi and Darryl Atkinson. The battle lasted five laps before the caution lights came on for Jayden Blomeley who spun. Paisley suffered a flat tyre on the resultant re-start handing the lead to DeGoldi who defeated Atkinson and Troy Hose.

Jeremy Weston and Brad McClure who start on the front row for the main event, with Mick Clark and Jason Degoldi starting on the second row.

With a capacity field assembled it wouldnt take long for a multi car pile-up with as many as ten cars involved in a turn two incident. Soon after the restart Gerrard Mabbitt would roll over, with Eugene Bennett also retiring from the race with extensive damage to the front of his Commodore.

The race then settled down, with McClure leading and had his sights on the back markers when the final caution of the race was called after Darryl Atkinson and Troy Hose made contact, ending the night for Hose.

Mick Clark and Jason DeGoldi would continue to chase McClure in the remaining laps, with plenty of excellent battles further back in the pack for the minor placings. McClure though, would handle the heavy lapped traffic the best to defeat Clark, DeGoldi, Shaun Henry and Darryl Atkinson.

Later at the presentation of trophies, McClure presented one of his biggest fans his trophy.

:: Street Stock

Heat 1, 10 Laps: 1. B23 Shaun Henry, 2, RDL27 Jason Degoldi, 3. RDL4 Dean Jenkins, 4. W5 Steven Watts, 5. RDL37 Darryl Atkinson, 6. RDL18 Scott Secombe, 7. BGO42 Rob Lock, 8. RDL57 Matthew Glab

Heat 2, 10 Laps: 1. S46 Anthony Beare, 2. RDL24 Brad McClure, 3. DDA43 Nathan Dunn, 4. RDL63 Darren Paisley, 5. AX19 Eugene Bennett, 6. B62 Jayden Blomeley, 7. W25 Jamie Crutchley, 8. B14 Robert Smith, 9. DDA68 Kylie Rae, 10. W77 Melissa Crutchley

Heat 3, 10 Laps: 1. B48 Mick Clark, 2. S117 Jeremy Weston, 3. RDL12 Darren Giacometti, 4. B39 Gerrard Mabbitt, 5. B61 Dale Blomeley, 6. M57 Troy Hose, 7. RDL45 Jeff Oldfield, 8. G23 Mitch Viney

Heat 4, 10 Laps: 1. S46 Anthony Beare, 2. S117 Jeremy Weston, 3. BGO42 Rob Lock, 4. M57 Troy Hose, 5.W5 Steve Watts, 6. AX19 Eugene Bennett, 7. B39 Gerrard Mabbitt, 8. G23 Mitch Viney, 9. W25 Jamie Crutchley

Heat 5, 10 Laps: 1, B48 Mick Clark, 2. RDL4 Dean Jenkins, 3. RDL27 Jason DeGoldi, 4. RDL63 Darren Paisley, 5. B62 Jayden Blomeley, 6. RDL45 Jeff Oldfield, 7. RDL57 Matthew Glab, 8. B14 Robert Smith, 9. RDL18 Scott Secombe

Heat 6, 10 Laps: 1. RDL12 Darren Giacometti, 2. RDL24 Brad McClure, 3. B23 Shaun Henry, 4. B61 Dale Blomeley, 5. DDA43 Nathan Dunn, 6. W77 Melissa Crutchley, 7. DDA68 Kylie Rae

Heat 7, 10 Laps: 1. RDL24 Brad McClure, 2. B23 Shaun Henry, 3. W5 Steven Watts, 4. G23 Mitch Viney, 5. AX19 Eugene Bennett, 6. RDL57 Matthew Glab, 7. RDL45 Jeff Oldfield, 8. G29 Ash Fox

Heat 8, 10 Laps: 1. S117 Jeremy Weston, 2. B39 Gerrard Mabbitt, 3. RDL4 Dean Jenkins, 4. B48 Mick Clark, 5. B61 Dale Blomeley, 6. BGO42 Rob Lock, 7. W25 Jamie Crutchey, 8. DDA68 Kylie Rae

Heat 9, 10 Laps: 1. RDL27 Jason Degoldi, 2. RDL37 Darryl Atkinson, 3, M57 Troy Hose, 4. AX66 Luke Dingley, 5. B62 Jayden Blomeley, 6. RDL18 Scott Secombe, 7. B14 Robert Smith, 8. RDL63 Darren Paisley, 9.W77 Melissa Crutchley

A Main, 20 Laps: 1. RDL24 Brad McClure, 2. B48 Mick Clark, 3. RDL27 Jason DeGoldi, 4. B23 Shaun Henry, 5. RDL37 Darryl Atkinson, 6. RDL4 Dean Jenkins, 7. B62 Jayden Blomeley, 8. RDL63 Darren Paisley, 9. B61 Dale Blomeley, 10. W25 Jamie Crutchley, 11. RDL18 Scott Secombe, 12. G23 Mitch Viney, 13. RDL57 Matthew Glab, 14. RDL45 Jeff Oldfield, 15. DDA68 Kylie Rae, 16. B14 Robert Smith, 17. AX66 Luke Dingley, 18. W77 Melissa Crutchley

Brad McClure flanked by Jason DeGoldi, Mick Clark and one of Brad McClures biggest fans.