Matty Smith Is King

by | Jan 27, 2018 | Latest News, Results

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

After three gruelling nights of competition, the Ian Boettcher Race Parts Modified Sedan Kings Royal has been won by National Champion, Matty Smith, at the Kingaroy Speedway on Saturday night.

Smith did not have it all his own way, losing the lead to West Australian Champion, Clint Noakes in the middle stages of the race, before regaining the lead and driving away from the field in the concluding stages.

Ironically, last years winner, Greg Worling would be the first driver to retire from the event, completing just one of the fifty laps.

Smith and Brett Barron would start on the front row for the fifty lap main event, with Smith getting the best of the early exchange, as Barron and Noakes traded second place through the opening laps.

The early mover through the field would be Victorian, Matt Nelson, who after starting on the fifth row, moved to second place on lap eleven, as Barron started to slowly slip back through the field.
Noakes who had also come under pressure in the early laps, recovered from falling as far as fifth to reclaim second place on lap fourteen, as he tried to stay with Smith who was in heavy traffic.

The West Australian Champion would take the lead on lap twenty one, while Matt Nelson was close by in third.

Smith would chase Noakes for the next eleven laps, reclaiming the lead on lap thirty three, which would be the same time that Nick Cockerill moved to third at the expense of Nelson.

Ten laps from home, Rodney Pammenter, who started well down the starting grid, moved into third at the expense of Nelson and Cockerill, as Matty Smith used lapped traffic to move away from the field.
The battle for second place would last the entire last ten laps with nothing separating Noakes, Pammenter and Nelson, while Mark Raymont was not far behind in fifth.

Smith would be too strong though, winning by a quarter of a lap, with Noakes just holding off Pammenter and Nelson in a desperate finish.

A Main, 50 laps, 1. CR66 Matty Smith, 2. W23 Clint Noakes, 3. CR8 Rodney Pammenter, 4. V61 Matt Nelson, 5. G27 Mark Raymont, 6. CN21 Johnno Collins, 7. N62 Jordan Biviano, 8. V11 Nick Cocerill, 9. V7 Justin Drew, 10. MK19 Wayne Gilroy, 11. L15 Max Clarke, 12. G4 Glenn Pagel, 13. SB88 David Barbeler, 14. G28 Aidan Raymont. DNF: SB59 Darren Lester (40), V4 Brock Atkins (31), CR27 Shane MacDonald (30), SB48 Brett Barron (25), SB54 Mick Shelford (25), GL11 Tony Coomber (12), CR62 Tim Smith (12), CR72 Shane Langton (12), CR78 Peter Gray (2), L3 Greg Worling (1). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 4.333. Fastest Lap: 17.359 CR66 Matty Smith.

Matty Smith on his way to victory. Photo courtesy of Mr Click