by | Mar 26, 2021 | SSA Modified Sedans, WA

Images by Blake Jones Photography

The opening night of the 2020/2021 SSA Modified Sedan WA State Title at the Make Smoking History Collie Speedway has seen Jayke Malcolm finish proceedings as the only driver to record two heat wins and find himself at the top of the point standings aboard his Holden Commodore.

Nathan Penn and 2009 WA Modified Sedan Champion Allan Mortimer both had a productive opening night to find themselves at inside the top three heading into tomorrow night.

Perfect weather conditions and fantastic track conditions which lent itself to some great racing provided the twenty three SSA Modified Sedans with a wonderful opportunity to put on a great display of racing across the nine qualifying heats.

The night started with the ODH Mechanical Holden Commodore of Sam McAuley being awarded the Ian Beard Best Presented Car Award by the scrutineering team from Speedway Sedans Western Australia.

The opening heat race of the WA State Title saw defending champion Branden Fraser lead all ten laps and win by over three seconds after 2016 WA Champion Matt Noakes failed to start due to a small engine fire aboard the IVIX Industries Holden Commodore.

Heat two saw the first incident of the night occur after Nathan Penn and Kevin Ellement got lcoked together bringing on the yellow lights.

Peter Fraser got the better of Calon Ball to claim the thirty six points as the field battled two and three wide through the field.

2008 WA Champion Brendan Selleck dominated heat three winning by 1.77 seconds from Luke Fraser who worked his way through the field into second place by race end.

Luke Fraser and 2018 WA Champion Anthony King came together in heat four on lap five while battling for second place with the duo both retiring from the event along with Adam Houston who sustained a flat right rear tyre.

Matt Noakes bounced back from a disappointing start to the State Title to claim heat four from Peter Fraser and Jack McAuley with just five cars finishing the ten laps.

Heat Five was the race of the night as Jayke Malcolm and Allan Mortimer raced side by side for the majority of the race before Mortimer and Laurie Dowsett made contact on lap seven as Dowsett began to challenge the leaders with Mortimer spinning to the infield.

Dowsett would restart from the tail of the field with three laps remaining as Malcolm held on to win from Mortimer and Kyle Sayer.

2018/2019 WA Modified Sedan Series Champion Nathan Penn raced away to a solid win in heat six as drama struck the Western Australian Champion as Branden Fraser took his Ford Falcon to the infield with engine issues.

Nathan Penn

News broke during the interval break prior to the final round of racing on night one that Peter Fraser would take no further part in the State Title to allow his son Branden to race his car for the remainder of the weekend.

Jayke Malcolm became the only driver to win two heat races on night one when he claimed victory in heat seven after Kyle Sayer suffered a flat tyre and failed to go the distance.

Malcolm defeated Mortimer and Albany’s Merv Penn who is contesting the State Title for SSA Modified Sedans for the first time.

Bunbury Car Club veteran Adam Houston drove a stirring race to win heat eight from Nathan Penn and Luke Fraser aboard the Civil Hirings Ford Falcon.

Anthony King bounced back from a disappointing start to the State Title to hold off the fast finishing Matt Noakes and Laurie Dowsett to win the final heat race of the program.

Just three more heat races are to come on night two ahead of the forty lap A Main to decide the 2020/2021 SSA Modified Sedan WA State Title with racing getting underway from 5.30pm.

Official Results

Heat One, Ten Laps: 1. W1 Branden Fraser, 2. W95 Kyle Sayer, 3. W6 Paul Stevens, 4. W17 Merv Penn, 5. W13 Shane Dubberlin, 6. W29 Sam McAuley, 7. W51 Anthony King. DNS: W20 Matt Noakes. Time: 3.25.142, Winning Margin: 3.600, Fastest Lap: 20.123 W1 Branden Fraser

Heat Two, Ten Laps: 1. W2 Peter Fraser, 2. W8 Calon Ball, 3. W14 Laurie Dowsett, 4. W57 Nathan Penn, 5. W21 Rick Musarra, 6. W18 Adam Houston, 7. W96 Jack McAuley, 8. W31 Kevin Ellement. Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.796, Fastest Lap: 20.072 W21 Rick Musarra

Heat Three, Ten Laps- 1. W3 Brendan Selleck, 2. W15 Luke Fraser, 3. W11 Sean Theyer, 4. W74 Allan Mortimer, 5. W23 Jayke Malcolm, 6. W19 Josh Stewart, 7. W33 Kim Williams. Time: 3.20.514, Winning Margin: 1.772, Fastest Lap: 19.719 W3 Brendan Selleck

Heat Four, Ten Laps- 1. W20 Matt Noakes, 2. W2 Peter Fraser, 3. W96 Jack McAuley, 4. W11 Sean Theyer, 5. W33 Kim Williams, 6. W18 Adam Houston (5 laps), 7. W15 Luke Fraser (5), 8. W51 Anthony King. Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.627, Fastest Lap: 19.935 W20 Matt Noakes

Heat Five, Ten Laps- 1. W23 Jayke Malcolm, 2. W74 Allan Mortimer, 3. W95 Kyle Sayer, 4. W3 Brendan Selleck, 5. W29 Sam McAuley, 6. W17 Merv Penn, 7. W6 Paul Stevens, 8. W14 Laurie Dowsett. Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.563, Fastest Lap: 19.972 W23 Jayke Malcolm

Heat Six, Ten Laps- 1. W57 Nathan Penn, 2. W8 Calon Ball, 3. W31 Kevin Ellement, 4. W19 Josh Stewart, 5. W21 Rick Musarra. DNF: 6. W13 Shane Dubberlin (9 laps), 7. W1 Branden Fraser (7). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.734, Fastest Lap: 20.130 W57 Nathan Penn

Heat Seven, Ten Laps- 1. W23 Jayke Malcolm, 2. W74 Allan Mortimer, 3. W17 Merv Penn, 4. W29 Sam McAuley, 5. W6 Paul Stevens, 6. W11 Sean Theyer. DNF: 7. W95 Kyle Sayer (7 laps). Time: 3.22.897, Winning Margin: 1.103, Fastest Lap: 19.890 W23 Jayke Malcolm

Heat Eight, Ten Laps- 1. W18 Adam Houston, 2. W57 Nathan Penn, 3. W15 Luke Fraser, 4. W3 Brendan Selleck, 5. W96 Jack McAuley, 6. W8 Calon Ball. DNF: 7. W31 Kevin Ellement (2 laps). DNS: W21 Rick Musarra. Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 1.492, Fastest Lap: 19.960 W18 Adam Houston

Heat Nine, Ten Laps- 1. W51 Anthony King, 2. W20 Matt Noakes, 3. W14 Laurie Dowsett, 4. W1 Branden Fraser, 5. W19 Josh Stewart, 6. W33 Kim Williams, 7. W13 Shane Dubberlin. DNS: W2 Peter Fraser. Time: 3.25.469, Winning Margin: 0.408, Fastest Lap: 19.914 W14 Laurie Dowsett

The Official Point Score after Night One of the 2020/2021 SSA Modified Sedan WA State Title

  1. W23 Jayke Malcolm 85
  2. W57 Nathan Penn 81
  3. W74 Allan Mortimer 73
  4. W3 Brendan Selleck 70
  5. W8 Calon Ball 66
  6. W20 Matt Noakes 64
  7. W2 Peter Fraser 64
  8. W1 Branden Fraser 61
  9. W15 Luke Fraser 59
  10. W95 Kyle Sayer 59
  11. W18 Adam Houston 56
  12. W14 Laurie Dowsett 52
  13. W11 Sean Theyer 50
  14. W51 Anthony King 50
  15. W17 Merv Penn 50
  16. W96 Jack McAuley 44
  17. W6 Paul Stevens 44
  18. W29 Sam McAuley 40
  19. W19 Josh Stewart 40
  20. W31 Kevin Ellement 37
  21. W33 Kim Williams 31
  22. W13 Shane Dubberlin 31
  23. W21 Rick Musarra 26