by | Mar 28, 2021 | SSA Modified Sedans, WA

images by Blake Jones Photography

Jayke Malcolm has claimed an extraordinary victory in the 2020/2021 Spry’s Meat Market SSA Modified Sedan WA State Title at the Make Smoking History Collie Speedway on Saturday Night holding off Luke Fraser by 0.027 of a second in a thrilling finish.

Malcolm and Fraser raced to the chequered flag on the final circulation with the crowd standing on their feet in the front straight at the Coalfields venue as the race concluded.

Twenty SSA Modified Sedans contested the second night of the state title, with a great crowd enjoying a beautiful early Autumn night in the South West.

The final three heat races were contested early in the program with Luke Fraser holding off a fast finishing Jayke Malcolm in heat ten with the defending champion Branden Fraser working his way into third place by the end of the ten laps.

Albany’s Laurie Dowsett recorded a solid win in heat eleven to rocket himself up the point standings with Anthony King and Sean Theyer following Dowsett’s Falcon home at the end of the race.

Nathan Penn claimed victory in the final heat of the WA State Title for SSA Modified Sedans which gave him enough points to qualify pole position for the forty lap main event.

Eighteen cars would face the starter as Bunbury’s Adam Houston and 2008 WA Modified Sedan Champion Brendan Selleck would not start the race due to mechanical issues.

Nathan Penn and Jayke Malcolm occupied the front row as the field raced off into turn one for the first time.

Malcolm lead the early laps and began about building a gap between himself and Penn who had Laurie Dowsett and Kyle Sayer challenging the Rightway Industrial Ford Falcon.

Sayer moved from his position six starting position into third place after just three laps as the SSA Modified Sedans raced two and three wide providing a great spectacle for the paying public.

Jack McAuley became the first retirement on lap eight and was quickly joined by the 2016 WA Modified Sedan Champion Matt Noakes in the IVIX Industries Holden Commodore.

After fifteen laps Malcolm began to fall into the clutches of Penn as Dowsett, Sayer and Luke Fraser continue a thrilling battle for third place.The only stoppage of the race occurred on lap twenty when Shane Dubberlin, Kim Williams and Merv Penn got together at the back of the field.

Malcolm lead the field away at the resumption as Penn, Dowsett and Sayer continued their battle for second place.

As the laps wound down Penn again closed the gap to Malcolm as the KCM Transport Holden Commodore was barely holding onto the race lead with a thrilling finish becoming almost a certainty.

Defending WA Modified Sedan Champion Branden Fraser retired from the race on lap thirty six ending his reign as the State Champion after running in eighth place for much of the main event.

Luke Fraser began his move to the front of the field with five laps remaining as he moved past both Sayer and Dowsett in one lap and then found himself in second place as the Ford Falcon of Nathan Penn began to slow.

The Civil Hirings Ford Falcon of Luke Fraser made a desperate attempt to steal victory from Jayke Malcolm on the final corner with the pair racing to the line as Malcolm held on to win by 0.027 of a second from Fraser with Penn holding off Laurie Dowsett to finish third.

Kyle Sayer rounded out the top five ahead of Calon Ball, Sean Theyer, Sam McAuley, Allan Mortimer and Josh Stewart the ten finishers.

New WA Modified Sedan Champion Jayke Malcolm was lost words in victory lane thanking his Mum & Dad along with his hard working crew for making his racing career possible.

The placegetters were all warmly received by the fantastic crowd on hand when presented with their trophies and sashes, as the public paying witnessed one of the best SSA Modified Sedan WA State Titles seen for many years.

Speedway Sedans Western Australia have already began preparations for the 2021/2022 SSA Modified Sedan WA State Title to be held at Albany’s Attwell Park Speedway.

Official Results of Night Two of the 2020/2021 SSA Modified Sedan WA State TitleHeat 10 – 10 Laps: 1. W15 Luke Fraser, 2. W23 Jayke Malcolm, 3. W1 Branden Fraser, 4. W13 Shane Dubberlin, 5. W6 Paul Stevens, 6. W74 Allan Mortimer, 7. W19 Josh Stewart, DNS: W31 Kevin Ellement

Heat 11 – 10 Laps: 1. W14 Laurie Dowsett, 2. W51 Anthony King, 3. W11 Sean Theyer, 4. W96 Jack McAuley, 5. W29 Sam McAuley, 6. W17 Merv Penn, 7. W18 Adam Houston, DNS: W2 Peter Fraser

Heat 12 – 10 Laps: 1. W57 Nathan Penn, 2. W95 Kyle Sayer, 3. W8 Calon Ball, 4. W33 Kim Williams, DNF: W20 Matt Noakes (3), DNS: W3 Brendan Selleck, W21 Rick Musarra


1. W57 Nathan Penn 117

2. W23 Jayke Malcolm 113

3. W15 Luke Fraser 95

4. W8 Calon Ball 89

5. W14 Laurie Dowsett 88

6. W95 Kyle Sayer 87

7. W1 Branden Fraser 84

8. W74 Allan Mortimer 83

9. W51 Anthony King 78

10. W20 Matt Noakes 77

11. W11 Sean Theyer 73

12. W3 Brendan Selleck 70

13. W18 Adam Houston 64

14. W2 Peter Fraser 64

15. W96 Jack McAuley 61

16. W17 Merv Penn 60

17. W6 Paul Stevens 57

18. W29 Sam McAuley 53

19. W13 Shane Dubberlin 48

20. W19 Josh Stewart 48

21. W33 Kim Williams 48

22. W31 Kevin Ellement 37

23. W21 Rick Mussara 26

A-Main – 40 Laps: 1. W23 Jayke Malcolm, 2. W15 Luke Fraser, 3. W57 Nathan Penn, 4. W14 Laurie Dowsett, 5. W95 Kyle Sayer, 6. W8 Calon Ball, 7. W11 Sean Theyer, 8. W29 Sam McAuley, 9. W74 Allan Mortimer, 10. W10 Josh Stewart DNF: 11. W17 Merv Penn (37) 12. W1 Branden Fraser (36) 13. W6 Paul Stevens (34), 14. W33 Kim Williams (20), 15. W13 Shane Dubberlin (20), 16. W51 Anthony King (15), 17. W20 Matt Noakes (12), 18. W96 Jack McAuley (8), DNS: W18 Adam Houston, W3 Brendan Selleck. Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.027, Fastest Lap: 19.749 W14 Laurie Dowsett