Lycholit Wins Memorial Event

by | Oct 22, 2017 | Latest News, Results

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Phil Lycholit has won a thrilling Street Stock Feature Race at the Quit Collie Speedway on Saturday night, and in the process also secured the prestigious Curly Fishlock Memorial, as highest point scorer on the opening night.

Under leaden skies, and the constant threat of rain, the opening night of racing at the Coalfields venue provided plenty of great racing across the six qualifying heats.

Lycholit and Daniel Ameduri would start on the front row for the fifteen lap decider, while Cody Avins and Ethan Genev would start on row two.

Lycholit would get the best of the start, with Genev moving immediately into second place ahead of Ameduri, Paul Briggs and Avins. The five drivers would then move away from the remainder of the field, to have a five way battle for the lead.

The yellow lights were brought on when Luke Fraser spun in turn two, bunching the field, with ten laps remaining.

Lycholit maintained the lead, but Paul Briggs moved quickly to second, demoting Genev to third, while Ameduri would then come under pressure from Damon Thomson and Wayne Thomson, as the battle intensified.

Ameduri and Genev changed placings numerous times behind Lycholit and Briggs, who looked destined to fight it out for the win.
Things would go awry for Briggs on the back straight on the last lap, with Briggs suffering mechanical failure. In leaving the track, the chasing pack went either side of Briggs, sending cars in every direction, leaving Lycholit to cruise to victory. Daniel Ameduri would exit the back straight mayhem the best to finish second while Ethan Genev finished third. Meanwhile, Damon Thomson was the most severely inconvenience in the back straight incident, failing to cross the line after finding the middle of the infield in the desperate final lap.

Earlier, Wayne Thomson, Damon Thomson, Paul Briggs and Carl Pickersgill all won a qualifying heat, while Lycholit was successful twice.

:: Street Stock

Heat 1, 8 Laps: .1. W17 Phil Lycholit, 2. W4 Ethan Genev, 3. W31 Cody Avins, 4. W10 Damon Thomson, 5. W61 Cody Blight, 6. W19 Jamie Terkildsen. DNF: 7. W26 David Padmore (6 laps), 8. W12 Paul Briggs (2) 9. W47 Ray Rick (2)

Heat 2, 8 Laps: 1. W15 Wayne Thomson, 2. W3 Luke Fraser, 3. W83 Daniel Ameduri, 4. W89 Brad Smith, 5. W8 Carl Pickersgill, 6. W5 Jeff Rogers, 7. W44 Brodie Dunn

Heat 3, 8 Laps: 1. W10 Damon Thomson, 2. W83 Daniel Ameduri, 3. W3 Luke Fraser, 4. W4 Ethan Genev, 5. W89 Brad Smith, 6. W70 Barry Hunter, 7. W19 Jamie Terkildsen, 8. W5 Jeff Rogers, 9. W15 Wayne Thomson (7 laps)

Heat 4, 8 Laps: 1. W12 Paul Briggs, 2. W17 Phil Lycholit, 3. W31 Cody Avins, 4. W26 David Padmore, 5. W4 Brodie Dunn, 6. W8 Carl Pickersgill, 7. W47 Ray Rick (4 laps)

Heat 5, 8 Laps: 1. W8 Carl Pickersgill, 2. W31 Cody Avins, 3. W12 Paul Briggs, 4. W26 David Padmore, 5.W44 Brodie Dunn, 6. W19 Jamie Terkilsden, 7. W5 Jeff Rogers

Heat 6, 8 Laps: 1. W17 Phil Lycholit, 2. W4 Ethan Genev, 3. W83 Daniel Ameduri, 4. W10 Damon Thomson, 5. W47 Ray Rick, 6. W3 Luke Fraser

Feature Race, 15 Laps: 1. W17 Phil Lycholit, 2. W83 Daniel Ameduri, 3. W4 Ethan Genev, 4. W15 Wayne Thomson, 5. W31 Cody Avins, 6. W8 Carl Pickersgill, 7. W3 Luke Fraser, 8. W19 Jamie Terkilsden, 9. W26 David Padmore, 10. W10 Damon Thomson, 11. W5 Jeff Rogers, 12. W44 Brodie Dunn, 13. W12 Paul Briggs, 14. W47 Ray Rick

Phil Lycholit in action on Saturday night. Photo courtesy of Fastlane Photography