by | Jan 22, 2023 | SSA Street Stocks, WA

Press Release by Morgan Melvin

West Australian Champion Damon Lyall survived several wall rides and a flat right front tyre to win both the final round and the Overall Championship of the ODH Mechanical Tri-City Series at the Perth Motorplex last night.

Lyall survived a failing motor in the final laps to win over Michael Hamon and Matthew Iwanow.

The top three protagonists in the series, Lyall, Hayden Norman and Jamie Oldfield, occupied the top three positions in the 20-lap main event, with Norman storming off to a convincing lead.

At the same time, Lyall and Oldfield got swarmed by Hamon, who was doing his best Ross Chastain impersonation riding outside the field and straight into second place.

Falling back as far as sixth, Lyall was on a charge back to the front in the opening laps until he and Oldfield tangled.

Oldfield was sent to the back while Lyall would restart in third.Norman would continue to lead for the next three laps until his left rear axle snapped, sending him to the infield.

While from here on in, it will say Lyall would lead every lap, but the Carnarvon product fought for his life on his hands, holding on to an ill-handling car along with Hamon and now Iwanow, who started sixth chasing his tail.

Iwanow had several attacks on the inside of Hamon while Hamon kept the concrete wall close by as he tried everything to pass Lyall.

Still, it was all the State Champion who doubled his wins, taking both the feature and the ODH Mechanical Tri-City Overall.

Behind them, another three-way battle was going on for fourth place as Ben Norman would outlast Derby’s Robert Dunbar, who was ultra-impressive all weekend long and Daniel Ameduri.

With Oldfield finishing 18th, unable to move through the field after being sent to the rear and Hayden Norman breaking, Lyall would cruise the series by 75 points over Oldfield and Norman in the end.


Street Stocks Feature, 20 laps: 1. Damon Lyall, 2. Mick Hamon, 3. Matthew Iwanow, 4. Ben Norman, 5. Robert Dunbar, 6. Daniel Ameduri, 7. Kayne Dellar, 8. Jake Hoath, 9. Jake Williams, 10. Linton Dickerson, 11. Jack Barnewall, 12. Cody Avins, 13. Jamie Goodwin, 14. Lachlan Dellar, 15. Gordon Wyatt, 16. Aaron Sutton, 17. Paul Joss, 18. Jamie Oldfield, 19. Josh Stewart (19), 20. Clayton Blee (19), 21. Ray Leonard (19). DNF: Stevie O’Dowd (10), Hayden Norman (6), Russell Gunn (1). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.611. Fastest Lap: 22.078 Hayden Norman.


1. WA1 Damon Lyall 558

2. W0 Jamie Oldfield 483

3. W6 Hayden Norman 474

4. W57 Mick Hamon 453

5. W66 Ben Norman 450

6. W9 Kayne Dellar 342

7. W129 Jake Hoath 334

8. W11 Matthew Iwanow 295

9. W100 Linton Dickerson 294

10. W69 Paul Joss 269

11. W31 Cody Avins 262

12. W124 Jake Williams 255

13. W626 Jamie Goodwin 253

14. W19 Stevie O’Dowd 251

15. W195 Lachlan Dellar 251

16. W79 Josh Stewart 212

17. W17 Aaron Sutton 188

18. W35 Craig Clayton 178

19. W55 Jace Kempton 160

20. W56 Ethan Cooper 143