by | Jan 21, 2023 | SSA Street Stocks, WA

Press Release by Morgan Melvin

Street Stocks once again delivered in their single weekend at the Perth Motorplex, with current State Champion Damon Lyall and last-start Motorplex winner Hayden Norman taking the Preliminary victories tonight.

Lyall stormed home to take the opening Preliminary from Jamie Oldfield and Daniel Ameduri.

At the same time, Norman ran away with a convincing victory in the second from Michael Hamon and Robert Dunbar.

Oldfield would start off the pole with Lyall, but it was the Carnarvon product taking the lead from the get-go and was never headed, with Oldfield trying everything to keep up to prevail no.

For Norman, who won last year at the Motorplex, he was untouchable in the shortened feature due to time constraints.

But it was Derby’s Dunbar the story of the night as he drove impressively to finish on the podium.

Street Stocks will have one heat race tomorrow night, with the top six in each heat race inverted before the 20-Lap Final round of the ODH Mechanical Tri-City Series.


Street Stocks Feature 1, 15 laps: 1. Damon Lyall, 2. Jamie Oldfield, 3. Daniel Ameduri, 4. Cody Avins, 5. Kayne Dellar, 6. Clayton Blee, 7. Aaron Sutton, 8. Josh Stewart, 9. Paul Joss, 10. Jake Williams, 11. Justin Melhuish (14). DNF: Jack Barnewall (12), Lachlan Dellar (7). DNS: James Lawton, Jamie Goodwin. Total Time: 5.37.091. Winning Margin: 3.596. Fastest Lap: 21.025 Damon Lyall.

Street Stocks Feature 2, 10 laps: 1. Hayden Norman, 2. Mick Hamon, 3. Robert Dunbar, 4. Ben Norman, 5. Matthew Iwanow, 6. Linton Dickerson, 7. Gordon Wyatt, 8. Russell Gunn, 9. Stevie O’Dowd, 10. Daniel Sutton, 11. Sean Puttick (9), 12. Mark Higgins (8). DNF: Ray Leonard (9), Jake Hoath (0). Total Time: 3.38.438. Winning Margin: 5.927. Fastest Lap: 21.654 Hayden Norman.