by | Oct 18, 2020 | QLD, SSA Modified Sedans

Brisbane’s Darran Lester has claimed victory in the twenty five lap main event for SSA Modified Sedans at the season opener at the Ian Boettcher Race Parts Kingaroy Speedway last night.

In a night of high drama, one of the leading Speedway Sedan venues in the country was home to some brilliant racing from the five National Categories that were in action.

Former Queensland Champion Brodie Boss qualified outside pole for the feature race but was out only metres after taking the green flag with his Ford Falcon’s right front corner collapsing.

The race had a number of attempts to get going with Aidan Raymont running the top side of the race track while leading the early laps as the race settled into a rhythm.

Rockhampton’s Brenton Scott was in hot pursuit of the leader when Wayne Gilroy went upside down on the back straight on lap four.

Shane Macdonald and Scott began a battle for second as Raymont put plenty of real estate between himself and the rest of the field.

As the race hit the midway point, Darran Lester worked his way into second after getting the better of the likes of Josh Harm, Brenton Scott and Nathan MacDonald as Shane MacDonald’s race ended on lap fifteen on a hooked up Kingaroy surface.

Drama struck Brenton Scott on lap nineteen as his right front parted company with his Ford Falcon in front of the control in the front straight.

Lester immediately attacked Raymont for the lead when the race resumed with the Brisbane based pilot hitting the lead within sight of the finish.

As the race came to a close Lester held on to win from Raymont, Josh Harm, Nathan MacDonald and local Brett Barron.

SSA Modified Sedans are back in action at the Ian Boettcher Race Parts Kingaroy Speedway on Saturday 7th November 2020.

Official Result

SSA Modified Sedans Feature Race, Twenty Five Laps: 1. B59 Darran Lester, 2. G28 Aidan Raymont, 3. SB55 Josh Harm, 4. CR32 Nathan MacDonald, 5. SB48 Brett Barron, 6. RK22 Jack Cameron, 7. CR24 David Head, 8. N11 Greg Worling, 9. M6 Brayden Pacey, 10. SB6 Brad Stein, DNF SB108 Alex Sweeney (23), RK42 Brenton Scott (19), CR27 Shane MacDonald (15), SB10 Stephen Geritz (11), SB11 Chris Hams (9), SB24 Scott McDermott (4), G5 Brett Baxter (3), MK19 Wayne Gilroy (3), BB3 Allan Nash (2), CR64 Brodie Boss (0)