by | Dec 28, 2021 | SSA Super Sedans, TAS

Press Release by Super Sedans Tasmania, Image by Angryman Photography.

Steve Latham has taken out a commanding victory in the prestigious Geoff Stagg Memorial, as well as night two of the Buckby Motors Super Sedan Allstars, and Round Three of the Walsh Marine Services Tasmanian Super Sedan Series.

Latham took wins in both of his heat races to lock in pole position. Other Heat winners were Marcus Alexander, David Nichols and Corey Smith.

Latham was joined on the front row by Wayne Dillon by virtue of two second placed finishes in his heat races. Latham won the launch and settled into the lead, with Dillon in second, and Smith in third.

Nichols and Callum Harper were making the moves early in the race having started sixth and eighth respectively to be third and fourth by the time the yellow light was out on lap six. From the restart Nichols and Harper ran side by side for a number of laps in a great display for the fans.

Nichols came unstuck on lap ten and spun to the infield, sending him to the rear of the field for the restart.

From the restart Smith and Harper made contact which sent Harper spinning in front of the field. With cars baring down on him, Harper spun a full 360° and was able to keep the car mobile to only lose one position, and keep the race green!

Latham was a clear leader by the time the yellows were back out on lap nineteen which saw Smith exit the race. A large pile up from the resultant restart brought out the red flag with the track being blocked.

Latham resumed in the lead with Harper and Dillon in hot pursuit. Nichols who was fifteenth when he was sent to the rear restarted fifth and made the move around the outside for fourth on Laura Davidson. Nichols applied the pressure and got the pass done around the putt side on the penultimate lap.

Latham went on to score his second win in a row almost two seconds clear of Harper in third. Nichols held on for third, with Dillon and Davidson rounding out the top five.

Geoff Stagg Memorial – 30 laps

  1. T8 Steve Latham, 2. T1 Callum Harper, 3. T3 David Nichols, 4. T48 Wayne Dillon, 5. T61 Laura Davidson. 6. T71 Robbie Bird, 7. T29 Tim Johnson, 8. T75 Brendan Flynn (28) DNF T6 Corey Smith (19), N57 Tyson Moon (19), T4 Marcus Alexander (19), N47 Daryl Moon (19), T10 Andrew Poke (19), T18 Dwaine Sonners (19), T49 Aaron Dillon (17), T14 Adam Beechey (13), T38 Jayden Triffett (12), T7 Nathan Howells (11), T19 Brett Dawkins (10), T47 Lucas Dillon (8), T12 Luke Gunn (1), T28 Andy Russell (1)

Super Sedans Tasmania are proudly supported by;
Walsh Marine Services
Buckby Motors
DG Nichols Builders
Total Automotive & 4WD
Ian Boettcher Race Parts
TKA Camping & Outdoors
Speedway Sedans Australia
Speedway Sedans Tasmania

Image by Angryman Photography