Late Charge Sees Randall Home At Archerfield

by | Feb 19, 2019 | Latest News, Results

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Justin Randall has won an entertaining Brims Concrete Super Sedan A Main at the Ausdec Patios Archerfield Speedway supported by Queensland Speedway Spares on Saturday night.

Sean Black who started on the front row courtesy of winning the Gold Shootout, and immediately took the lead in the 30 lap main event.
The race would be completely re-started though after David OKeefe hit the concrete wall in the main straight.

On the resultant re-start Black again led, with David Musch moving to second, before another yellow light stoppage for David Mortimer who spun in turn two.

Musch and Ian Brims were having a great battle behind Black with the pair closing on the leader when Mortimer spun for a second time and was disqualified.

Justin Randall started to make his move, taking second place on lap eight, setting out after Black, with Ian Brims and Wayne Randall third and fourth respectively.

After a lengthy period where positions remained unchanged, it would be the concluding stages where everything happened, with lapped traffic playing a part.

Ian Brims would be shuffled right back in the concluding stages, and Justin Randall caught and then passed Sean Black in the back straight with just three laps to go. Black then had to hold off Tania Smith, who got under Black in turn one, but Black shut the door at the last moment, with Smith almost spinning out of the race.

Randall would win by just under a second, with Black and Smith close by, with Wayne Randall, Ian Brims, David Musch and Bob McCosker the remaining drivers on the lead lap.

Earlier, David Musch, Sean Black, Wayne Randall and Justin Randall won the four qualifying heats.

Heat 1, 10 Laps: 1. Q12 David Mucsh, 2. Q19 Tony Brinkmann, 3. Q20 Nicholas Okeefe, 4. Q56 David Okeefe, 6. N3 Tania Smith, 6. Q6 Wayne Randall, 7. Q48 Rodney Craft. Time: 2.33.279, Winning Margin: 3.979, Fastest Lap: 14.904 Q12 David Musch

Heat 2, 10 Laps: 1. Q26 Sean Black, 2. Q39 Bob McCosker, 3. Q76 Ian Brims, 4. N19 Dion Bennett, 5. Q91 Ed Doherty, 6. Q0 Justin Randall, 7. N21 David Mortimer. Time: 2.28.442, Winning Margin: 7.260, Fastest Lap: 14.678 Q26 Sean Black

Heat 3, 10 Laps: 1. Q6 Wayne Randall, 2. Q76 Ian Brims, 3. Q19 Tony Brinkmann, 4. Q12 David Musch, 5. Q26 Sean Black, 6. Q39 Bob McCosker, 7. Q91 Ed Doherty. Time: 2.38.079, Winning Margin: 0.642, Fastest Lap: 15.531 Q6 Wayne Randall

Heat 4, 10 Laps: 1. Q0 Justin Randall, 2. N3 Tania Smith, 3. Q56 David Okeefe, 4. Q20 Nicholas Okeefe, 5. N19 Dion Bennett, 6. N21 David Mortimer, 7. Q48 Rodney Craft (1 lap), 8. Q22 Dale Christensen (0). Time: 2.39.865, Winning Margin: 0.357, Fastest Lap: 15.726 N3 Tania Smith

A Main, 30 Laps: 1. Q0 Justin Randall, 2. Q26 Sean Black, 3. N3 Tania Smith, 4. Q6 Wayne Randall, 5. Q76 Ian Brims, 6. Q12 David Musch, 7. Q39 Bob McCosker, 8. Q22 Dale Christensen (29 laps), 9. N19 Dion Bennett (29), 10. Q91 Ed Doherty (29), 11. Q48 Rodney Craft (29), 12. Q20 Nicholas Okeefe (28), 13. N21 David Mortimer (3), 14. Q56 David Okeefe (0). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.980, Fastest Lap: 16.367 Q26 Sean Black