King Leads Modified Sedan Title

by | Mar 3, 2018 | Latest News

Speedway Sedans Australia News

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Anthony King is the overnight leader in the 2017/2018 Speedway Sedans Western Australia Modified Sedan State Title which is being held at the Makit Hardware Narrogin Speedway.

King had a very consistent night with his best performance coming in his final heat where he won by over two seconds.

The racing was incredibly tight throughout the night with the opening heat of the title a thrilling contest. Aydan Trewern lead the opening eight laps before his engine expired handing the lead to two time state champion Mick Johnson who defeated Kane McDiarmid and Matt Noakes who charged forward late in the race.

Heat two saw the reigning champion Clint Noakes lead from start to finish defeating Ray Clifton and Anthony King.

Carnarvons Blake Jackson lead the early laps of heat three before Sean Theyer found a way past to record his first win of the title with 2009 WA Champion Allan Mortimer finishing third.

Heat Four saw the first major incident of the title with multiple cars making contact while battling for position with Clint Noakes losing his right rear wheel in the process. Rick Musarra lead the last nine laps of heat four holding off the fast finishing Adam Houston and Ray Clifton.

Heat Five saw 2016 WA Modified Sedan champion Matt Noakes lead from start to finish with Calon Ball and Allan Mortimer filling the placings.

Anthony King dominated the final heat of the night with the second incident of the night occurring when Miranda Ball and Tom O�Driscoll make contact in turn one while battling for fourth position. Ball was sent to the rear of the field with Blake Jackson, Adam Houston and Mick Reynolds all coming together while battling for second position with three laps remaining. Houston retired from the race with a flat left rear tyre with King going on to win from Jackson and local Paul Stevens.

The final two qualifying heats of the title will be held this evening ahead of the thirty five lap main event.

Racing is scheduled to start from 6pm with a full supporting program on the card.


1. W51 Anthony King 76
2. W32 Mick Johnson 66
3. W20 Matt Noakes 64
4. W41 Blake Jackson 64
5. W11 Sean Theyer 63
6. W73 Ray Clifton 57
7. W8 Calon Ball 55
8. W21 Rick Musarra 55
9. W1 Clint Noakes 53
10. W74 Allan Mortimer 52
11. W31 Kane McDiarmid 48
12. W6 Paul Stevens 46
13. W18 Adam Houston 40
14. W13 Mick Reynolds 32
15. W4 Miranda Ball 30
16. W2 Branden Fraser 28
17. W56 Sandy MacPherson 26
18. W47 Shane Dubberlin 19
19. W79 Tom O�Driscoll 14
20. W12 Aydan Trewern 4