by | Jun 8, 2021 | SSA Modified Sedans, SSA Street Stocks, WA

Words by the Carnarvon Speedway, Images by Peter Roebuck

In one of its biggest fields for the event seen in quite some time, it was Jace Kempton that kept the Street Stock Stocksville Trophy in home territory.

Winning the event in 2019 Kempton moved from position six to take the victory from Hayden Norman and Jamie Oldfield.The 30-Lap feature ran in both directions, with the opening 15 laps going the traditional way with front-row occupants Norman and Damon Lyall getting off to an early advantage.

Kempton’s charge started early, moving his way into third place before lap 10 and after a slight mistake from Lyall, found himself in second place at the halfway mark.

A competition caution at lap 15 changed more than just the direction of racing, with Damon Lyall sliding down the order as the current WA Champion Oldfield moved into a podium position and Kempton laid his hands on the lead with a calculated pass on Norman who was moving around the track to find an ideal driving line.

Lyall had work on his hands for the remainder of the race with Carl Pickersgill and Night One Point Leader Wade Mason Chasing his tail in the dying laps.But it was a rewarding win for Kempton who is the acting President of the Carnarvon Speedway.

The taste of locals celebrating victory continued on the second night with Jarrod Rick being able to retain his Modified Sedan North West Championship crown over a fast-finishing Sam McAuley and Jayke Malcolm.

Not to be outdone by the Street Stocks, the event had its fair share of action with the top three all in a class of their own.

Jarrod Rick

Rick led from start to finish in a race that went the 15-lap distance without a stoppage and was able to defend all attacks laid on him by McAuley during the event in what turned out to be an exciting night for the home crowd.


Street Stocks Feature Race, 30 Laps- 1. W55 Jace Kempton, 2. W6 Hayden Norman, 3. WA1 Jamie Oldfield, 4. W27 Damon Lyall, 5. W89 Carl Pickersgill, 6. W88 Wade Mason, 7. W66 Ben Norman, 8. W62 Peter Dowie, 9. W96 Jack McAuley, 10. W53 Glen Graham, 11. W25 Harry Wingfield (28), 12. W31 Bryan Riddick (28). DNF: W3 Trent Lyall (22), W16 Leo Brooks (21), W35 Craig Clayton (14). DNS: W19 Stevie O’Dowd, W77 Wade Mason. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.700. Fastest Lap: 19.326 W55 Jace Kempton.

SSA Modified Sedan Feature Race, 15 Laps- 1. W47 Jarrod Rick, 2. W29 Sam McAuley, 3. WA1 Jayke Malcolm, 4. W13 Shane Dubberlin, 5. W6 Kathryn Harper, 6. W67 Michael Ricetti. DNS: W3 Brendan Selleck. Total Time: 4.44.515. Winning Margin: 1.406. Fastest Lap: 18.505 W6 Kathryn Harper.