Kempton Is The Overnight Leader Again!

by | Jan 26, 2019 | Latest News


Speedway Sedans Australia News

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

For the third time in four years, Jace Kempton is the overnight points leader after three rounds of heats for the WA Street Stock Title, this year being held at the Make Smoking History Collie Speedway.

Kempton was the only driver in the sixty three car field across the eighteen heats to grab two wins, with a second rounding out his three finishes to be leading on 100 points. Paul Joss is next best on 92 points while former WA Champion Jamie Oldfield and the only interstate visitor in the field, Corey Sandow, are tied for third on 87 points.

The opening heat saw the yellow light stoppages begin early with David Fall spinning, while Bradley Roberts would charge from sixth to second and Kempton from tenth to fourth in the first two laps. Karratha (Nickol Bay) President Stevie ODowd would lead the whole distance and defeat Kempton and Sandow.

Heat Two saw the yellows out again as Robert Dunbar went wide and hit the wall in turn three, only to then be hit by Ryan Penfold. The yellows were out a lap later with Damon Lyall spinning, State Champion Hayden Norman sent to rear for his part in the incident, then a few laps later the yellows were out again, with Lyall cannoning into the turn one wall and ending his weekend early. Jack Barnewall would go on to win from Damien Amato and Zane Humphrys.

Heat Three saw David Padmore on a charge from position eight, passing second placed Brinley McGaffin and then leader Barry Rewell on the outside, with Rewell then spinning to bring on the yellows. Padmore would take the win from McGaffin and Freddy Kinsella.

The fourth heat was a great battle between Warren Oldfield, Paul Briggs and Shane Whild. In the final few laps the three closed in with Oldfield holding on by just 0.051 seconds, the closest finish of the night, ahead of Briggs.

Jack Favero was the early leader in heat five before his car suddenly turned right and touched the turn two wall to bring on the yellows. The ensuing battle saw Paul Joss, Josh Davies, Peter Herbert and Ethan Genev all battling it out, but ending with Davies, Herbert and Genev all coming together. Genev went to the rear on the restart, with Joss taking the win from Davies and Herbert.

The final heat of the first round was an all the way win to Damon Thomson over Jamie Oldfield and Evan Wakefield.

Round Two of heats began with State Champion Norman running away, his lead increased even further when second placed Josh Davies made a big mistake and dropped back to last. A stoppage with two to go bunched the field up again, but Norman would win from Sandow and Humphrys.

Heat Eight saw a great race between Jamie Oldfield and Ameduri, but on the final corner Ameduri blew a tyre and zig zagged all over the track, making heavy contact with the wall despite finishing second, with Dave Padmore third.

A depleted field took the green flag in Heat Nine and despite having front end issues Jace Kempton was able to hold off Glenn Vanzetti for the win.

Heat Ten saw some banging and crashing at the start, a couple of cars hooking together but in the end it was Bradley Roberts taking a good win from Joss and Herbert.

Heat Eleven saw Brodie Dunne and Jeremy Ferris both retire early after some crash and bash at the back of the field. A smoking Petrus Lamprecht was running towards the front but heavy smoke eventually saw him retire from the race, while Ricky Sing and Colin Metcalfe has a significant coming together in turn four. Jack Favero would cross the line first after a great three way battle between himself, Clint Hadley and Paul Briggs but was later relegated two positions, handing the win to Hadley.

Former State Champion Wayne Thomson led all the way in Heat Twelve to record the win and round out the second group of heats, while round three began with Josh Davies clouting the back straight wall heavily, ending his weekend early. David Fall led early, with Rickie Nuccini also taking a turn at the front before Corey Sandow took over and claimed the win

After a rough initial start to heat fourteen, the top four of David Padmore, Jamie Oldfield, Peter Herbert and Hayden Norman battled hard, with Padmore leading before all of a sudden being swamped by Herbert, Norman and Oldfield. In a great finish Herbert would hold off a charging Norman by 0.082 seconds.

Heat Fifteen saw Kempton lead flag to flag to be the first and only driver to claim multiple heat wins on the opening night while it took a number of attempts to get heat sixteen underway. Each start though Josh Martinelli raced to the front, then survived a mid-race stoppage to grab the win, while Shane Whild, who had been running second, spun in the final corner, allowing Bradley Roberts and Jeff Rogers through for second and third respectively.

Ethan Genev got out to a big lead in heat seventeen which was minimized when Jake Hoath spun, but it did not matter, Genev racing away again to defeat Joss and ODowd while the final heat of the night saw a small field fighting hard, with a number of stoppages and Zane Humphrys eventually getting the nod over Jack Barnewall.

Racing action will recommence at the Make Smoking History Collie
Speedway once again tomorrow from 6pm, with drivers all competing in one more round of heats prior to the C,B and A main events.
Race results will be posted on Facebook as they happen, with live timing available via Race-Monitor and a live stream service being offered via the Collie Speedway website.

Points After Night One
1. W55 Jace Kempton 100
2. W69 Paul Joss 92
3. W51 Jamie Oldfield 87
4. V129 Corey Sandow 87
5. W12 Paul Briggs 84
6. W144 Peter Herbert 82
7. W39 Zane Humphrys 82
8. W16 Jack Barnewall 77
9. W25 Bradley Roberts 77
10. W82 Damien Amato 73
11. WA1 Hayden Norman 72
12. W26 David Padmore 72
13. W71 Josh Martinelli 70
14. W15 Wayne Thomson 67
15. W19 Stevie ODowd 65
16. W85 Warren Oldfield 63
17. W6 Clint Hadley 62
18. W10 Damon Thomson 61
19. W4 Ethan Genev 61
20. W13 Brinley McGaffin 59
21. W183 Daniel Ameduri 53
22. W31 Cody Avins 48
23. W0 David Fall 45
24. W44 Brodie Dunn 44
25. W5 Jeff Rogers 44
26. W41 Rickie Nuccini 43
27. W18 Jack Favero 42
28. W43 Josh Davies 41
29. W66 Ben Norman 41
30. W28 James Westerman 40
31. W2 Shane Whild 39
32. W109 Glenn Vanzetti 39
33. W3 Barry Rewell 36
34. W32 Ben Ferris 35
35. W81 Peter Walker 34
36. W21 Evan Wakefield 33
37. W121 Ryan Penfold 33
38. W318 Freddy Kinsella 32
39. W119 Jamie Terkildsen 32
40. W9 Marty Kelly 31
41. W29 Jake Hoath 29
42. W112 Kade Helms 28
43. W118 Daniel Stanley 26
44. W37 Jeremy Ferris 26
45. W17 Clint Marks 25
46. W114 Chas Skipworth 25
47. W57 Ricky Sing 25
48. W72 Russell Gunn 23
49. W14 Wade Rigney 23
50. W38 Trevor Dace 21
51. W23 Steven Griffoths 20
52. W35 Craig Clayton 19
53. W101 Tracey Saunders 17
54. W116 Colin Metcalfe 14
55. W11 Greg Hall 13
56. W83 Linton Dickerson 12
57. W194 Petrus Lamprecht
58. W27 Damon Lyall 5
59. W127 Brennan McGaffin 4
60. W151 Justin Melhuish 4
61. W94 Robert Dunbar 4
62. W199 Phil Lycholit 0

Details courtesy of Scott Beattie
Photo: Jace Kempton
Photo courtesy of Blake Jones