Kane Wins Action Packed Carrick Event

by | Jan 24, 2019 | Latest News, Results

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Darren Kane won an action packed Launceston All State Towing Super Sedan National Challenge, with the race unfortunately declared after nineteen laps with two very heavy crashes, at the Crane Combined Carrick Speedway on Thursday night.

Steve Latham elected to start on the outside of the front for the fifty lap main, with Matt Pascoe starting on the inside.

Latham got the best of the start and was immediately hounded by Pascoe and Darren Kane.

Andrew White suffered a flat tyre on lap three, while the first yellow light was brought on for Laura Davidson, who was unable to get off the track after suffering mechanical issues on lap five.

On the resultant restart, a multi car crash occurred in turn four with Callum Harper retiring with a flat tyre, which also eliminated Dave Gartner. The Cranes Combined Crane was required to separate New South Wales driver Darren Anning and Wayne Dillon.

Kane, running the low line, tried several times to pass Latham who was running the highline as Pascoe brushed the wall coming out of turn two on lap eight, losing some ground.

Kane finally took the lead from Latham on lap ten, with Pascoe clear in third place from Adam Beechey. Sean Black, Ryan Alexander and Corey Smith had a great battle going for the minor placings, as positions changed numerous times.

The lead started to extend as Kane moved away from Latham, with Pascoe catching Latham on lap fifteen, as the yellow lights came on for Lee Aylett who spun in turn four.

The green lights would see the status quo, with Pascoe and Latham running side by side for nearly two laps before Pascoe got the better of Latham, and soon after Beechey moved to third, and Latham eventually moved to bottom, as his highline run was not paying off.

On lap nineteen, the red lights came on for a multi car crash which saw David Nichols roll over for the second time in five days. Sam Roza, Kym Jury and Gil Aylett were all caught up in the incident.
With extensive damage and clean up and with the time hitting 11.00pm EDST the race had to be declared due to the time curfew.

A Main, 50 Laps: 1. Q36 Darren Kane, 2. Q1 Matty Pascoe, 3. T41 Adam Beechey, 4. T8 Steve Latham, 5. T16 Corey Smith, 6. Q26 Sean Black, 7. S47 Ryan Alexander, 8. N47 Darryl Moon, 9. V3 Mick Nicola Snr. Race Declared on lap 19.

Photo courtesy of Angryman Photography