Kane Hits the Lead Late in SA Super Sedan Title

by | Feb 23, 2020 | SA, SSA Super Sedans

Queensland’s Darren Kane has claimed his fourteenth State Title victory last night at the Borderline Speedway in Mount Gambier during the 2019/2020 SA Super Sedan State Title.

Kane moved his IBRP Dominator Chassis into the race lead on lap seventeen with Tasmanian Callum Harper and multiple South Australian Champion Dave Gartner rounding out the podium.

Twenty Four Super Sedans converged on the Borderline Speedway for the SA Super Sedan Title which served as a great entree to the 2019/2020 SSA National Super Sedan Title at the same venue in less than a fortnights time.

National Champion Matt Pascoe was sidelined for the nights activities after hurting the power plant in his Sweet Chassis during hot laps.

Kane & Gartner shared the front row for the main event with Gartner holding off Kane and Mick Nicola JNR early on as the Super Sedans flew around the Mount Gambier bullring.

Defending champion Ryan Alexander and Callum Harper battled for fourth place before a stoppage for the spun Jamie Collins.

Kane continued to harass Gartner with the multiple National Champion finding a way past for the lead on lap seventeen with Harper working the top side of the race track to move his way into second.

Harper hit the front with two laps remaining before the yellows came on for the spun Steve Schwarz.

A green white chequer was all that awaited competitors as Harper restarted behind Kane with the two racing hard until the chequered flag.

Kane held on to win the fourteenth State Title of his career and his second victory in the SA Super Sedan Title.

Harper, Gartner, Alexander and Mick Nicola Jnr rounded out the top five.

Australia’s best Super Sedan competitors will now head to Murray Bridge next Saturday Night for the John Dawson Memorial event before the 2019/2020 SSA National Super Sedan Title back in Mount Gambier the following weekend.

Official Result

A Main, 30 Laps: 1. Q36 Darren Kane, 2. T22 Callum Harper, 3. S8 Dave Gartner, 4. S47 Ryan Alexander, 5. V23 Mick Nicola Jr, 6. V16 Ash Bergmeier, 7. Q44 Trent Wilson, 8. V3 Mick Nicola Sr, 9. S22 Paul Blenkiron, 10. N57 Tyson Moon, 11. Q4 Leigh Williams, 12. N21 Darren Anning, 13. S99 Steve Schwarz, 14. S99 Kym Jury (29), 15. V11 Anthony Nicola (28), 16. S34 Kym Leeson (27), DNF V34 Jamie Collins (22), V71 Lionel West (14), W4 Lee Aylett (9), S87 Rob Marchant (9), S63 Kym Cottrell (9), Q7 Steve Jordan (2)

The Podium from the 2020 SA Super Sedan Title

Image by SR Photos