Kane Conquers Kingaroy

by | Dec 9, 2018 | Latest News

Speedway Sedans Australia News

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Darren Kane has continued his love affair with the Ian Boettcher Race Parts, Kingaroy Speedway, when he won round five of the Brims Concrete Super Sedan Series, supported by Barnes Drilling, to continue to have won more main events at the venue in the last five years than anyone else.

After Matty Pascoe and Sean Black won the opening round heats, both by a car length, Trent Wilson had a strong victory in heat three with Darren Kane winning heat four by more than half a lap. Matthew Williams and round four winner, Wayne Randall won the final two qualifying heats, to again have six different winners win the six qualifying heats.

Darren Kane was the highest qualifier from Matty Pascoe, with Tania Smith the third highest pointscorer. Matthew Williams, Wayne Randall, Gavin Northfield, Sean Black and Trent Wilson made up the top eight, who would then go into the random draw for starting positions in the 40 lap marathon around the showground venue.
Gavin Northfield was fortunate to select the number one marble, while Matty Pascoe was able to draw the outside. Wayne Randall drew position three, with Sean Black starting from position four. Trent Wilson would move to the third row after the marble draw, while Darren Kane was the big loser out of the random draw and would start from position six, while the fourth row would consist of Tania Smith and Matthew Williams.

Matty Pascoe got the best of the opening laps, leading Gavin Northfield and Wayne Randall, but it would not take long for the first caution, which would eliminate Travis Barron, Shayne Lau and Trent Wilson.

On the restart, Wayne Randall moved to second place, but this would be short lived, as Darren Kane took second place on lap four, and set out after Pascoe.

On lap thirteen, Kanes ascension to the lead was complete, passing Pascoe to assume control of the race. The cautions were required again on lap fifteen, with Justin Randall and Gavin Northfield unable to continue.

Behind Kane, Pascoe and Wayne Randall, Matthew Williams had moved to fourth, while Sean Black was in fifth place.

Kane and Pascoe put on a classic battle which both have been renowned for, and had opened up a half a lap lead over the remainder of the field.

Black would get the better of Matthew Williams with five laps remaining to move to fourth, as Kane and Pascoe continued to be separated by no more than two car lengths.

Kane took the forty lap event and in the process set the quick lap of the race, downing Pascoe, Wayne Randall, Black, Williams and Tania Smith who rounded out the top six.

:: Super Sedans
Heat One, 10 laps: 1. B15 Mat Pascoe, 2. RK3 Matthew Williams, 3. Q15 Gavin Northfield, 4. N3 Tania Smith, 5. T44 Trent Wilson, 6. RK4 Leigh Williams, 7. SB31 Travis Barron, 8. Q91 Ed Doherty, 9. Q22 Dale Christensen. Total Time: 2.25.190. Winning Margin: 0.489. Fastest Lap: 14.090 RK3 Matthew Williams.

Heat Two, 10 laps: 1. Q26 Sean Black, 2. Q36 Darren Kane, 3. Q99 Mark OBrien, 4. GL39 Bob McCosker, 5. C6 Wayne Randall, 6. CR71 Shayne Lau, 7. SB12 David Musch, 8. C20 Nicholas OKeeffe, 9. C0 Justin Randall. Total Time: 2.27.584.Winning Margin: 0.350. Fastest Lap: 14.497 Q36 Darren Kane.

Heat Three, 10 laps: 1. T44 Trent Wilson, 2. CR71 Shayne Lau, 3. N3 Tania Smith, 4. C6 Wayne Randall, 5. Q91 Ed Doherty, 6. Q22 Dale Christensen, 7. GL39 Bob McCosker, 8. Q99 Mark OBrien, 9. SB31 Travis Barron. Total Time: 2.29.821. Winning Margin: 3.650. Fastest Lap: 14.759 T44 Trent Wilson.

Heat Four, 10 laps: 1. Q36 Darren Kane, 2. Q15 Gavin Northfield, 3. SB12 David Musch, 4. C0 Justin Randall, 5. RK4 Leigh Williams, 6. B15 Mat Pascoe, 7. Q26 Sean Black, 8. Rk3 Leigh Williams. Total Time: 2.17.908. Winning Margin: 7.076. Fastest Lap: 13.447 Q36 Darren Kane.

Heat Five, 10 laps: 1. RK3 Matthew Williams, 2. B15 Mat Pascoe, 3. Q36 Darren Kane, 4. Q26 Sean Black, 5. C0 Justin Randall, 6. RK4 Leigh Williams, 7. Q15 Gavin Northfield, 8. SB12 David Musch. Total Time: 2.26.021. Winning Margin: 1.238. Fastest Lap: 14.207 B15 Mat Pascoe.

Heat Six, 10 laps: 1. C6 Wayne Randall, 2. N3 Tania Smith, 3, SB31 Travis Barron, 4. Q22 Dale Christensen, 5. GL39 Bob McCosker, 6. CR71 Shayne Lau, 7. T44 Trent Wilson, 8. Q91 Ed Doherty. DNF: Q99 Mark OBrien (3). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.759. Fastest Lap: 14.696 N3 Tania Smith,

Feature, 40 laps: 1.Q36 Darren Kane, 2.B15 Mat Pascoe, 3.C6 Wayne Randall, 4. Q26 Sean Black, 5. Rk3 Matthew Williams, 6. N3 Tania Smith (39), 7. SB12 David Musch (39), 8. GL39 Bob McCosker (38), 9. Q22 Dale Christensen (37), 10. Q91 Ed Doherty (37). DNF: Q15 Gavin Northfield (15), C0 Justin Randall (15), T44 Trent Wilson (2), CR71 Shayne Lau (2), SB31 Travis Barron (2). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.824. Fastest Lap: 14.123 Q36 Darren Kane.

Photo courtesy of Mr Click