by | Jan 4, 2024 | SSA Super Sedans, VIC

Press Release Courtesy of Victorian Super Sedan Association.

The field for the 2024 K Rock Cup is set and it is going to be an epic night this Saturday at Avalon Raceway.

Nineteen drivers representing five states will battle for supremacy as well as the $3000 winners prize, in what is one of the longest running Super Sedan blue ribbon races in Australia, which is set to double as round two of the NSSS National Super Sedan Series.

National Champion Trent Wilson will make the trek all the from Townsville for the K Rock Cup, following a strong weekend in the Ian Boettcher Classic at Toowoomba.

Tasmanian Callum Harper will head to Avalon chasing his second K Rock Cup and the $3000 pay day. Harper has been in great form this season has already claimed a $5000 feature race win at Gladstone earlier in the season.

Victorian and Tasmanian Champion Jamie Collins has been in great form recently, winning the last two Victorian Super Sedan Series rounds by a combined sixteen seconds. Collins will be chasing his first K Rock Cup

Mick Nicola Jnr claimed the opening round of the season at Avalon, and will be hoping that form will carry him to a maiden K Rock Cup triumph.

New South Welshman Tyson Moon was runner up on that night at Avalon, and after a challenging weekend at the Ian Boettcher Classic, Moon will be hoping for a return to form at Avalon.

‘The Joker’ Steve Jordan returns to Victoria after a third placed finish in the Victorian Title last season at Swan Hill. Jordan has struggled so far this season, but will be hoping a return to form will coincide with his return to Victoria.

Former K Rock Cup winners Mick Nicola Snr, Lucas Roberts, Dave Gartner, and Lionel West are also in the field and will be chasing another K Rock Cup triumph at Avalon on Saturday night.

Racing will kick off at 7pm with each driver to tackle two heat races to set the field for the 2024 K Rock Cup.

2024 K Rock Cup

Nominations (19)

A1 Trent Wilson

T1/V1 Jamie Collins

S1 Callum Harper

V0 Lucas Roberts

V3 Mick Nicola Snr

Q10 Steve Jordan

V12 Darren Giacometti

S18 Dave Gartner

V19 Danny Smith

S22 Paul Blenkiron

V23 Mick Nicola Jnr

V24 Dave Mackenzie

V36 Todd Atkins

N47 Tyson Moon

N57 Brock Atkins

V71 Lionel West

V92 Jimmy Harris

Q98 Michael Hally

V99 Trav Ramsdale