by | Dec 29, 2023 | SSA Super Sedans, TAS

Press Release Courtesy of Super Sedans Tasmania, Image by Angryman Photography.

Another epic field of Tasmanian Super Sedans are set to light up Gulf Western & Independent Oils Raceway in Latrobe for the inaugural John West Memorial and Round Five of the Tazz Auto Shots Tasmanian Super Sedan Series brought to you by Jury’s Earthworks.

Twenty drivers will contest the event named in the honour of one of the gentleman of Tasmanian Speedway in John West.

Last start winner Steve Latham will look to make it two wins on the trot and surge right into the conversation for the series points lead.

Latham currently sits third in the standings, but with his Tazz Auto Shots Joker Card still to be played at some point in the remainder of the season, another strong performance at Latrobe will put Latham right on the heels of series leader Callum Harper.

Trying to halt Latham’s momentum will be last start runner up Adam Beechey who is chasing his first win of the season.

Beechey moved into the top five in the series points for the first time this season on Boxing Night, and will be hoping another good result at Latrobe will propel him further up the standings after five rounds.

Luke Gunn currently sits fourth in the series standings, and will play his Tazz Auto Shots Joker Card on Saturday night.

Gunn has scored second and fourth placed finishes in his last two starts, but will hoping for a mega performance on Saturday night as he banks double points towards his end of season tally.

Lee Aylett got the monkey off his back on Boxing Night, finally making it to the end of a feature race, and recorded a strong sixth placed finish in the process.

Aylett was super fast in the Tasmanian Title at Latrobe last season, and will be hoping to carry that form into Saturday night for another strong showing and his first top five finish of the season.

Laura Davidson also returned to form at Carrick after back to back DNFs in the previous two rounds at Hobart and Latrobe.

Davidson crossed the line fifth at Carrick and will be hoping for more of the same at Latrobe on Saturday night.

Racing will kick off at 6pm with each driver taking on two heat races each to set the field for the thirty lap main event.

John West Memorial and R5 of the Tazz Auto Shots TSSS
Nominations (20)
W4 Lee Aylett
T5 Leon Cleary
T7 Nathan Howells
T8 Steve Latham
T9 Gil Aylett
T10 Andrew Poke
T12 Luke Gunn
T14 Adam Beechey
T16 Dennis Davidson
T18 Dwaine Sonners
T25 Joe Breitkopf
T26 Peter Johnston
T47 Lucas Dillon
T48 Wayne Dillon
T49 Aaron Dillon
T61 Laura Davidson
T73 Grant Hopkins
T75 Brendan Flynn
T88 Paul Howard
S93 Kym Jury

Super Sedans Tasmania are proudly supported by;
Tazz Auto Shots
Speedway Sedans Tasmania
Richmond Speedway Inc
Nets Tasmania
Walsh Roofing
Australian Racing Products
Jury’s Earthworks
Roberts Don Mac
Document Management Tasmania
Tas Plant & Supervision Hire
Master Roofing Contractors
Assurance HR Management
Total Automotive & 4WD
BlackAzz Asphalting
Platinum Prints