by | Jan 22, 2022 | SSA Super Sedans, TAS

Press Release by Super Sedans Tasmania, Image by Angryman Photography

Victoria’s Jamie Collins is the top point scorer after night one of the AutoKlene Super Sedan Grand National at AutoKlene Hobart Raceway. 

Drivers faced three heats each, before tackling the fifteen lap odds and evens preliminary feature events.

In heat one Laura Davidson stormed to victory ahead of Collins and Tasmanian Luke Gunn. Heat two was won by Queenslands Matt Williams ahead of fellow statesmen Zac Pascoe and Tasmanian David Nichols. In heat three Callum Harper was too strong ahead of Matty Pascoe and Mick Nicola.

In the second round of heats Collins got his first victory of the night by taking out heat four. Corey Smith bounced back from engine dramas to take out heat five, and in heat six Daryl Moon took out his first win since taking the wheel of his new Sweet Chassis.

Steve Latham got a win for the home town fans in heat seven. The Joker Steve Jordan was too good for the field in heat eight, and Wayne Dillon took out the final heat of the night, when he won heat nine.

Collins was second in points heading into the preliminary features and would start on pole of the evens A Main. Collins got the jump, but a significant accident in turn one took Laura Davidson and Mick Nicola out of the race. 

Collins would assume the ascendency from the restart and go on to take the feature race win to put himself atop of the points standings on night one. Dillon came home second, ahead of New South Wales’ Tyson Moon in third. 

Callum Harper topped the points after three rounds of heats, and would start the odds final from pole position. Queenslands Matt Williams would start alongside, but Tasmanian Steve Latham would be the one to apply pressure to Harper in the early stages of the race.

After a caution light Williams, began to make the top of the track work, dispatching of Latham on lap six, before setting his sights on Harper. 

Williams built the momentum on the top side of the track and would pull alongside Harper on lap ten. The two would run side by side for the remaining five laps with Williams coming out on top by seven thousandths of a second! Harper would cross the line in second, with Latham rounding out the podium in third.

The drivers will face a further two rounds of heats tonight, before the pole shuffle and fifty lap A Main. 

Evens feature – fifteen laps 
1. V34 Jamie Collins, 2. T48 Wayne Dillon, 3. N57 Tyson Moon, 4. Q10 Steve Jordan, 5. Q18 Brad Pascoe, 6. N47 Daryl Moon, 7. T18 Dwaine Sonners, 8. T7 Nathan Howells, 9. T47 Lucas Dillon, DNF T6 Corey Smith (0), V3 Mick Nicola Snr (0), T61 Laura Davidson (0)

Odds feature – fifteen laps 
1. Q3 Matt Williams, 2. T22 Callum Harper, 3. T8 Steve Latham, 4. Q1 Matty Pascoe, 5. T3 David Nichols, 6. Q28 Zac Pascoe, 7. Q98 Michael Hally, 8. Q4 Leigh Williams, 9. N23 Andrew White, 10. T12 Luke Gunn, 11. N21 Darren Anning, 12. T49 Aaron Dillon (14)

Point score 
1. V34 Jamie Collins 123
2. T22 Callum Harper 120
3. Q3 Matt Williams 117
4. T48 Wayne Dillon 105
5. T8 Steve Latham 89
6. N57 Tyson Moon 86
7. Q1 Matty Pascoe 78
8. Q10 Steve Jordan 76
9. T3 David Nichols 72
10. Q28 Zac Pascoe 64
11. N47 Daryl Moon 60
12. N23 Andrew White 60
13. T61 Laura Davidson 60
14. Q18 Brad Pascoe 59
15. V3 Mick Nicola Snr 57 
16. Q98 Michael Hally 55
17. T12 Luke Gunn 50
18. Q4 Leigh Williams 44
19. T6 Corey Smith 44
20. T18 Dwaine Sonners 39
21. N21 Darren Anning 30
22. T7 Nathan Howells 30
23. T47 Lucas Dillon 27
24. T49 Aaron Dillon 26
25. V0 Lucas Roberts 6

Super Sedans Tasmania are proudly supported by; 
Walsh Marine Services
Buckby Motors
DG Nichols Builders
Total Automotive & 4WD
Ian Boettcher Race Parts
TKA Camping & Outdoors
Speedway Sedans Australia
Speedway Sedans Tasmania