Its Never Over Until Its Over!

by | Dec 31, 2017 | Latest News, Results


Speedway Sedans Australia News

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

The history books will show Rod Musarra won the Production Sedan Feature race on Saturday night at the Quit Bunbury Speedway in front of the biggest crowd at the venue in many years, but that would not give an accurate description of what transpired.

Jeff Kendall and Wayne Leviston would start the fifteen lap main event on the front row, with Kendall taking the lead, and simply drove away from the opposition, with the advantage increasing lap after lap.

In a crowded chasing pack, Leviston went backwards as Matt Prunster moved to second, while Rod Musarra started to make his move through the field, after his car would not start in the pole shoot out, forcing the former National Champion to start from position six.

Musarra eventually moved to second on lap for, by which time Kendall had the length of the straight advantage over the opposition. Prunster and Daren Currell were in a good battle for the minor placings and were joined by Rachel Spalding.

The further the race went, the further Kendall would lead by until lap thirteen, when he hit the fence in Pits Bend, slowing to a crawl in the final two laps, allowing Musarra to take the lead. Currell had fought off the challenge from Prunster who would finish second and third respectively, while Wayne Leviston and Paul Bennett would run side by side for the final three laps to finish in the top five. For Kendall, he would finish last, after leading by as much as seven seconds.

Earlier, Musarra and Currell won the two qualifying heats, before Kendall systematically defeated drivers one by one in the pole shootout, to set up his front row start in the main event.

:: Production Sedans

Heat 1, 10 laps: 1. W12 Rod Musarra, 2. W86 Wayne Leviston, 3. W27 Rachel Spalding, 4. W39 Jeff Kendall, 5. W83 Darren Currell, 6. W5 Matt Prunster, 7. W4 Laura Byrnes, 8. W33 Sean Oldham, 9. W57 Kelsey Beard (9), 10. W7 Leticia Hamon (9). DNF: W63 Paul Bennett (9). DNS: W112 Warren Flavel. Total Time: 3.42.915. Winning Margin: 1.689. Fastest Lap: 21.202 W12 Rod Musarra.

Heat 2, 10 laps: 1. W83 Darren Currell, 2. W39 Jeff Kendall, 3. W86 Wayne Leviston, 4. W63 Paul Bennett, 5. W5 Matt Prunster, 6. W27 Rachel Spalding, 7. W33 Sean Oldham, 8. W4 Laura Byrnes, 9. W7 Leticia Hamon. DNF: W112 Warren Flavel (9), W57 Kelsey Beard (7), W12 Rod Musarra (2). Total Time: 3.37.656. Winning Margin: 0.523. Fastest Lap: 21.197 W39 Jeff Kendall.

Feature, 20 laps: 1. W12 Rod Musarra, 2. W83 Darren Currell, 3. W5 Matt Prunster, 4. W86 Wayne Leviston, 5. W63 Paul Bennett, 6. W27 Rachel Spalding, 7. W7 Leticia Hamon (14), 8. W57 Kelsey Beard (14), 9. W39 Jeff Kendall (14). DNF: W33 Sean Oldham (7), W4 Laura Byrnes (5), W112 Warren Flavel (1). Total Time: 5.20.934. Winning Margin: 2.328. Fastest Lap: 20.315 W39 Jeff Kendall.

Rod Musarra had the victory fall into his lap on Saturday night. Photo courtesy of Peter Roebuck