History With Collins Queensland Junior Victory

by | Mar 5, 2018 | Latest News, Results

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Casey Collins and Casey OConnell have provided fans at the Rockhampton Speedway with a thrilling Queensland Junior Sedan Title on Saturday night, with Collins winning by a car length after twenty laps.

The Duo would start on the front row for the Queensland Title, with OConnell getting the better of the start, leading Collins and Katelyn Storey through the first six laps.

Three drivers would retire on lap six, with Ellie Peacock,Dakota Laverty and Mason Cameron all watching the remainder of the race from the infield after a mid-pack crash.

On the resultant restart, OConnell continued to lead narrowly over Collins, Storey and Erik Wallace, with Collins making the winning pass on lap eleven, taking control of the race.

Positions remained the same, but a stoppage just two laps from the finish, would result in OConnell applying plenty of pressure to Collins, but the 2016 Champion prevailed. OConnell who finished third last season would be a gallant second while Katelyn Storey drove a great race, to record her best ever result.

In a desperate finish, Michael Larsen, Erik Wallace and Braith Hogan practically crossed the line together to complete the top six.

The win by Collins was more meritorious as he was driving a borrowed car, after selling his car earlier this year. Collins also creates history, becoming the first driver to win the Queensland Junior Sedan Title twice.

A Main, 20 Laps: 1. BB81 Casey Collins, 2. B48 Casey OConnell, 3. RK42 Katelyn Storey, 4. BW08 Michael Larsen, 5. MBA43 Erik Wallace, 6. RK75 Braith Hogan, 7. C23 Dylan Keen, 8. RK2 Abi Meehan, 9. M14 Jaiden Torrisi, 10. RK51 Nikolas Keeley, 11. M18 Bryce Bayfield, 12. M39 Kayden Swindells, 13. RK77 Mitch Simmons (18 laps), 14. RK17 Bailey Barnicoat (17), 15. RK90 Joel Curd (13), 16. C11 Bodhi Russ (11), 17. RK6 Zachary Maxwell (11), 18. RK22 Mason Cameron (6), 19. SC8 Dakota Laverty (6), 20. C74 Elle Peacock (6). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.354, Fastest Lap: 18.261 BB81 Casey Collins

Top Five Placegetters in Queensland Title 2018. Photo courtesy of Tony Scriven