by | Nov 6, 2022 | SSA Super Sedans, WA

Press Release Courtesy of WA Super Sedans

Dusty Higgs has taken his second win of the season at Tyrepower Manjimup Speedway in round two of the SSWA Summer Series.

The Higgs boys would kick the night off with a one two in the opening heat of the night. Dustin Higgs would lead home Dusty, with Kemble Aylett rounding out the podium in third.

Rob Knox would greet the chequers first in heat two, taking a big win over Kyle Larson in second, and Ajay Hammer in third.

Dusty Higgs would win heat three ahead of Dustin in second and Knox rounding out the podium in third.

This would lock in an all Higgs front row for the twenty lap feature race. Dusty would jump to the lead from the outside with Dustin settling into second.

Knox having started from third would have a good battle with Aylett in the early exchanges before settling into third with Aylett in fourth.

Dusty looked to have a comfortable lead out front, but Dustin built his momentum on the top of the track and was quickly back on the tail of his father.

Dustin got a big run in turns one and two on lap eight and sailed right around the outside of Dusty and into the lead.

Dustin would lead until lap eleven when he ran wide in turns three and four allowing Dusty to re-take the lead.

Dusty was flawless in traffic allowing him to build a comfortable lead.

Dusty would face a nervous moment with two laps to run, when Hammer and Larson who were battling over fifth place made contact sending Larson spinning to the infield, forcing Dusty into an evasive spin.

Dusty would come away unscathed and lead the field to the green for the final two lap sprint to the chequered flag.

Aylett would run wide on the penultimate lap to allow Hammer to sneak through into fourth. Dusty would go through the final two laps unchallenged to take out his second win of the season.

Dustin would finish a comfortable second, ahead of Knox who would round out the podium.

Official Result

A Main – 20 laps1. W1 Dusty Higgs, 2. W18 Dustin Higgs, 3. W68 Rob Knox, 4. W46 Ajay Hammer, 5. W9 Kemble Aylett, 6. W55 Jerome Wade, 7. W10 Kyle Larson, 8. W91 Darren Larson (19), 9. W96 Steven Larson (19), 10. W23 Ryan Huxtable (19), DNF W25 Nathan Thiele (12), DNS W5 Kevin Bell.